Tim

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Thank you for reading my profile.

    I am a self-reliant independent traveller who uses Workaway to experience new things, to learn and for the 'cultural experience'. I never did enough travelling when I was younger and I am making up for it now that I have the time. I have always 'wild camped' but being a bit older I now have a camper van (Mazda Bongo).

    I have retired early - I was working in Adult Social Work - physical health (illness, accident, age, disability) and mental health (social, medical, learning disability) and, they asked if I wanted to go early - of course, I said 'yes'.

    In 2019, I spent 4 months living in Brittany - I met interesting people: I spoke with some; I worked with others. I helped people with their projects/day-to-day business/dreams and in return I learned things I did not know; I had fun; I experienced new things; I learned about myself. Sometimes, it showed me other ways of thinking; other ways of living.

    In Brittany, I helped build part of a phytopurification tank; was involved in a local festival (marquee erection, food preparation, security, car parking, fixing things – usual festival kind of stuff); did painting and general DIY - installed guttering and made water butts (from barrels), fixed plant frames, repaired and made fencing, created a gate; looked after chickens and sheep; weeding and clearing vegetable areas; helped with bee hives; helped with developing ideas for a new venture (a vegetarian gite/Bed and Breakfast).

    I have always undertaken unpaid work (to learn, to be part of the community, or for the environment) working with: young people (12-18 years) as an instructor in the cadets (a youth organisation), with Army veterans (mental health, general support), environmental groups, conservation/land work. At the moment I am helping with woodlands, tree planting and peat bogs.

    When at home some of the things I like to do include hill walking, cycling, camping, reading (history - I like prehistory and Anglo-Saxon periods). I spend some time on my PC using it for music, Kindle, research.

    I am dependable and solution focussed. I am able to work on my own and think I am enthusiastic, adaptable, resourceful. I prefer to look at what we can do, not what cannot.

    I am looking forward to us being able to help each other.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have a lot of experience of work with people (young people to older adults) and I have experience of younger children from my personal relationships.
    I worked with people 16+ (to over 100) within adult Social work (mental health, addiction, homeless, illness and aging etc).
    I worked with young people (12-18) as an Instructor in the Army Cadets (which is a youth organisation supported by the Army (not part of the Army) .

    Skills and abilities:
    Cadet Instructor (12-18 year olds).
    field craft/camp craft - responsible living in outdoor environment. Wild camping.
    Camping expedition.
    Navigation - landscape, maps, compass work.
    First Aid
    Interpersonal skills -social work.
    Team management - social work
    Project management
    Aromatherapy massage
    Counselling
    hosting/leading workshops, training, talks.
    Teaching English as a Foreign Language (completed course, have yet to teach English).

    walking, camping, cycling (maintain & repair/3 months cycle camping trip in Europe)

    IT computer capable(Windows and similar software)

    cooking (vegetarian)
    Public event work - help organising and managing privately organised public events & national events

    Gardening is not a strong point, although I have grown herbs outdoors.
    I have undertaken conservation work with managing 'invasive' plant growth and woodland management. Also, fencing and pathways maintenance.
    .

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Age

    55

  • What else ...

    Driving
    clean licence
    No longer with car - now travelling with Mazda Bongo camper van.
    can drive minibus (& trailers), 22t van.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      not so far

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian (do not eat eggs [poached, boiled, fried, omelette, quiche etc] but will if part of a cake :) ).

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback