Thorarinn & Hjordis Yrr

From: Iceland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2018 - 02/05/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    214

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Icelandic family of five with a wide array of skills and certifications. Adults (44/45 years) both university educated, now wanting to try something completely different. Both former police officers, firefighters and divers. She is now a teacher, focusing on using IT in the classroom, he is a security consultant. Children (10/13/14 years) very independent and resourceful. Children speak English, play classical instruments and engage in sports and social activity. Travelling Central/Southern Europe in a camper-van from September on, looking to interact with local people while participating in various projects.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    All sorts of maintenance and basic repairs experience, buildings, boats, machinery, real estate. He is a former marine engineer (also certified captain and commercial diver) and has also completed studies in electronics. Certified EMT and first aid instructor, formerly also a teacher in maritime safety, security and survival. Certified heavy machinery operator. Military background as well (Denmark). Good IT skills (she is a certified Apple instructor) and various administrative/managerial experience (he as a security manager with 70 staff, she as a vice-principal in a grammar school). Very independent yet easy to get along with. :-)

  • Languages spoken

    English, Danish, German (basic)

  • Age

    47 & 46

  • Nationality

    Icelandic

  • What else ...

    We seek a different view for a year or two at least. Warmer climates preferred, as we've had our share of the Subarctic. :-) While used to a very high standard of living, we welcome giving some of it away - this is indeed part of the "different view" we seek. Willing to do most kinds of work, the atmosphere and conditions is more important than the actual work being made.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback