Thirza & Tim

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/09/2018 - 24/09/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    79

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello….. and thank you for reading our profile!

    We are Tim and Thirza, a cheerful and hardworking couple who live and work in the UK. We’ve both recently turned 50 and with our children flying the nest we’re taking the opportunity to explore more of our amazing natural world. We’d like to be more than just tourists though; to give as well as to receive, to learn new skills, to interact rather than to simply be observers.

    We are: reliable, hardworking, honest, adaptable, energetic, resourceful, fit and healthy, respectful, uncomplicated and cheerful :-)

    We are not: lazy, messy, judgmental, boring or old!

    We're both sociable people who enjoy working as part of a team but we are equally happy to work independently.

    If you are not sure whether we can do what you need, please ask. We will always give you an honest answer!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    What we offer/want to do

    We're happy to give anything a go so if you need help with something we’ve not thought to include in our skills list, please just ask!
    We love getting our hands dirty and working outside.
    We’re particularly keen to learn more about sustainable/eco/green projects.


    Skills

    Domestic
    • Cooking, food preparation, washing up
    • Shopping
    • Gardening
    • All aspects of housekeeping: including bed making, bathroom and kitchen cleaning

    DIY
    • painting, surface preparation
    • putting up shelves/curtain poles
    • basic plumbing
    • furniture assembly
    • mending/repairing

    Animal Care
    • cats/dogs (Tim)
    • horses - catching, feeding, grooming, exercising, schooling horses (Thirza)

    Business
    • online promotion including social media
    • book keeping
    • setting up office systems
    • customer service
    • writing instruction manuals
    • fixing computer problems
    • training

    Teaching and coaching
    • tutoring teenagers with special needs
    • teaching 3 – 7 year olds
    • training adults in new procedures
    • computer tuition for adults

  • Languages spoken

    English (Thirza and Tim), French (very rusty) - Thirza, German (school level) - Tim

  • Age

    53 & 56

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    We share a passion for the outdoors and we’ve recently discovered the joy of “micro-adventures”. We’ve been bivvying in Wales, star gazing in Herefordshire and taken a barefoot walk in the woods. Our shared adventures have also taken us further afield – to Cuba, Morocco and independent walking holidays throughout Southern Europe where we are always so grateful to the trailblazers who have gone before us. Regardless of the weather, we love spending time outside - walking, photographing, building fires and shelters, cooking or just “being” in the natural world.

    We both love cooking and eating and some of our most treasured experiences are those where we have been able to share meals with the people who grew, prepared and cooked the food. We’re always keen to learn about local ingredients and techniques and would love to cook with or for you.


    Tim is one of life’s optimists – his glass is always half full! He works as a medical microbiologist within the National Health Service and during the 2014-15 Ebola outbreak, spent a month volunteering in the Freetown hospital in Sierra Leone.

    Although a scientist by training, Tim is also a natural creative. He loves music, dancing and photography. His photography has been on display at the Royal College of Pathologists for several years and he currently sells his work through The Wilson Art Gallery and Museum.

    Thirza is an enthusiast who loves to learn new things. She is a natural organiser who can be relied on to get things done. Having previously worked as a researcher and a primary teacher, she is now employed as a social media consultant for a local environmental charity.

    Thirza sings and performs with a small a cappella group called Rough Diamonds and has had the privilege to spend two weeks living with the Refilwe Township Diamond Choir in South Africa - a truly amazing musical and cultural experience! Thirza’s other interests include yoga, meditation and making things.

    We're really excited by the possibilities WorkAway offers and hope some of you will invite us to contribute to your projects in the future!


    Our micro-adventure blog can be found here: http://ttmicroadventures.blogspot.co.uk/

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Thirza cannot eat products made with wheat - please don't be put off by this! She always carries foods with her that can be eaten instead of wheat products.

Photos

Feedback