Oliver & Santa

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Cyprus, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Norway, Portugal, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Slovenia ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/02/2020 - 30/04/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are two Sweets (a long term nickname for eachother, call it short for sweetie, sweetheart, whatever you want) who love to be outdoors – whether it be laying in the grass or beach, taking in sunshine, or enjoying one of the many outdoor activities such as hiking, surfing, swimming or rock climbing. Most things outdoors really. Simply, it doesn’t have to be anything fancy as far as it’s outside.

    We are also very much into finding a sustainable and green way of living. So when it comes to buying equipment/clothing a good, ethical company is fore front. Apart from that, we explore package free shopping and organic home grown greens and veg and would love to get more experience in permaculture.

    Our aim is to get out there as much as possible and explore the world. We have a real passion for travel as it makes us feel truly alive and that adventure spirit gets our hearts beating! We’re not big fans of cities and crowds (unless they are outdoorsy) as we like to be close to nature.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Oliver is an IT engineer by profession and Santa has skills in office coordination, administration especially in Human Resources and Events organisation.
    We are both hard working outdoor people and are no strangers to manual work. In Latvia (Santa's native country) it is known as "talka", which pretty much means everyone coming together to work (manual work!) towards a goal. This could mean moving and cutting a lorry load of firewood, digging a ditch, re-turfing or trimming hedges. We also over a number of years learned how to keep and grow our own vegetables and the odd strawberry. We both are animals lovers - we've cared for cats, dogs, and a rabbit. We regularly cat-sit for Oliver's parents. Santa also has a lot of experience with horses and horse riding.
    We both cook, and like to use our own produce when we can.
    Being outdoor lovers we also know a thing or two about rock climbing, surfing, hiking and cycling.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

  • Age

    36 & 30

  • What else ...

    We are both keen rock climbers and like to do things outdoors. We have attended a outdoor survival course, where we learned how to build a shelter, cook bread from flour and water, a bit of orienteering, and other outdoorsy skills. We like camping and hiking in the mountains or cliff paths. In the past we have climbed Snowdon, Scafell Pike and highest of all Kilimanjaro.
    On rainy days we don't mind spending time indoors reading a book or playing board games (our favourite Catan) or doing a puzzle.
    Santa is also interested in Yoga and meditation practice and we both like to stay fit by exercising regularly.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Santa does not eat meat

Photos

Feedback