Sharon

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am 48 years of age and have been either volunteering, or assisting volunteers for most of my adult life.
    I have volunteered at animal rescues, with people with Learning Disabilities, a suicide prevention phone line and face to face), as a Drug Counsellor, facilitated the local drug and alcohol user service group (enabling and encouraging the production of a newsletter, attending NHS engagement meetings, and peer-led overdose prevention and training workshops) and co-ordinated a local complementary therapist group.
    During the last three years I have been volunteering at an intentional community based in Greece in the Summer months and volunteering and traveling in the remaining months.
    I have also had a professional career, I have worked in the following settings:
    *️people with severe and profound learning disabilities in a residential setting, assisting with all their needs (home care, cooking, shopping, intimate care and social integration),
    *️Drug and alcohol users - face to face, phone, group work, needle exchange, working women, and service user involvement co-ordination and facilitation.
    *️Managerial roles within public health and primary care sectors of the UK National Health Service - 11 years
    I am self motivated and passionate about the things I do. I work well in a team or on my own - I also follow instructions well.
    I am eager to learn more about permaculture, organic gardening/living, sustainable living, plant medicines, community living and being closer to and working with nature.
    I feel at home in nature and with animals. I love walking, swimming, dancing, gardening, reading, and getting to know new places, things and people.
    I am keen to learn more about different cultures and societies and how they work.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    I have basic technological skills
    I am a good listener
    I am practical and focused
    I am good with people and animals
    I am a complementary therapist and tai chi instructor

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Greek: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    49

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback


Friends

Feedback