Tayla

From: Japan

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/03/2020 - 01/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Growing up in South Africa, I am lucky enough to have been able to draw a lot of inspiration from my surroundings: the richness in culture, the diversity, the history and the vast and natural landscapes and scenery.

    Always been a lover of adventure (maybe a little bit of an adrenaline addict sometimes) and with a thirst for thrill and learning new things about the world, about myself, i've set out to fill my pages: jumping in head first, each time leaving with the understanding that we're capable of anything we set our minds to. You never know until you try, so try and grow from it anyway.

    I started travelling at 18 years old. Since then i've travelled to over 20 countries, lived in 4 or 5 of those and have had some truly amazing experiences environmentally and culturally purely - i think - due to a trusting and ambitious outlook on life - this gives you some kind of superpower strength.

    I'm a very open minded person, pretty much always able to hear both sides to a story; balanced and content in learning from my mistakes.
    I find or at least try my very best to find gratitude in all situations.

    I'm a qualified and practising Yoga teacher.
    I've been teaching Yoga and fitness full time in Hokkaido, Japan for a year and a half. Studied Yoga Philosophy and Asana in Kerala, India.

    I have a deep love for art- specifically good at sketching and oil painting. I have also painted a few murals on my travels around the world in exchange for food and accommodation but I definitely have a lot of room to grow in that area.

    I've done a lot of volunteering for a South African NGO (Greenpop) planting trees and doing all things related to reforestation of land in South Africa.
    I'm in love with permaculture, but definitely want to and need to deepen my knowledge in this area. Natural building, Bio-Mimmicry, Eco-living are all things i'm really interested in and know a fair bit about with hopes to learn a lot more.

    I'm new to Workaway however i'm not new to volunteering or sharing space with new people of all places and kinds. I love it and hope i can take part in maaaany more experiences like this.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am a qualified practising Yoga and Fitness teacher, having received my qualifications in India in 2017. I've been doing this full time for just under 2 years in Hokkaido, Japan. Alongside this, i have been part of planning and hosting huge events for people from all over the world and of different ages.
    In the summer in Hokkaido, it was also my duty to lead hikes and mountain bike tours. This experience has given me skills in successfully engaging with cultures from around the world, and communicating effectively with people who don't speak english at all or as a first language.

    I am a level 1 Silversmith, working with silver and brass.

    I have beginner/intermediate knowledge of Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign - Adobe with history of digital marketing on social platforms. Desktop publishing and design.

    I'm good at drawing, painting and building things. Anything creative really.

    I've planted hundreds of trees. I'm good at it and i love it so much.

    I'm great at communication and connecting to people and nature in different ways.

    Always good on an adventure. Living off the Earth.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    South African

  • What else ...

    Music things, Art things, Nature things, i absolutely love. Love creating things. Love learning. Love exploring.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Dairy and Gluten

    • Special dietary requirements
      Plant - Based

Photos

Feedback