Dominic & Anna

From: New Zealand & Finland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Estonia, Finland, Norway

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/03/2020 - 15/10/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Our plans for the summer:
    We did have a lot of plans, but then corona came... BUT, now the Finnish government has announced that it is possible to travel again to the nearby countries!! So, what we would like to do is go somewhere where we could do things we love; enjoy nature, hike, surf, skate, do yoga, do gardening and enjoy good company!



    OUR STORY:
    We met in New Zealand in 2018 where Anna was on working holiday visa. We lived in New Zealand for a year and spent a few months traveling India and Nepal. Last autumn we decided to move to Finland and at the moment we are living in the north of Finland, Rovaniemi.


    DOM:

    I love gardening, children, and adventure. I enjoy learning new skills and helping others become better at theirs.
    I am 25yo from New Zealand and am looking for opportunities to explore and learn. I have a deep passion for permaculture and growing plants. I am a very easy going person and endeavour a no-stress lifestyle.
    I have recently been working as a nature tour guide and I'm loving it. I try to spend my time in nature or improving knowledge or a skill. I like to be creative and build things, I am not a stranger with tools.
    Reforestation, social development, trekking and camping, bird watching, hospitality, cooking, gardening, meditation and yoga, surfing, ; are all interests of mine and some I have much experience in, others I have little, but I am keen to learn more about them all!

    ANNA:

    I think active is the word that describes me the most. I'm always doing something and trying to develop myself as a person and skill wise. I'm from Finland, but the last 4 years I've spend abroad traveling, working in different countries and exploring myself.
    The things I love the most are nature and sports in different forms. I used to dance for about 10 years and couple of years ago I found surfing and it was love at the first sight. I'm also passionate about yoga, not only the physical aspect of it, but also the philosophy behind it. 2019 one of my dreams came true and I received my yoga teachers certificate. Apart from my many hobbies I'm also studying occupational therapy as distance learning. My longtime goal is to combine yoga, dance, my love to kids and occupational therapy and create my own business. I'm also very into tiny houses and sustainable living, my dream is to one day built a home for myself.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Dom

    I have a lot of knowledge about plants, permaculture principles and ecosystems. However I do not know about your climate and native habitats: Which I am very eager to learn.
    I am physically fit and able to help work where necessary. I am also very enthusiastic and patient so I enjoy helping kids learn new skills. I am a good cook and would like to further my woodworking.

    Anna

    I have worked in few different preschools and I'm really good with kids. I'm working in a hospitality at the moment and I have experience in working in a few restaurants. I'm also able to give yoga classes and that's what I really would like to do. I'm also a fast learner and physically fit. I'd like to learn some building.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Age

    26 & 23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Dairy/lactose

    • Special dietary requirements
      usually vegetarian, lactose intolerant

Photos

Feedback