Russ & Ausra

  • United States & Lithuania
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am a West Pointer and Wharton MBA with humble beginnings. My family always had a 1/4 acre garden, so I know how to hoe! I am skilled at hunting and fishing. I am also a good "fixer" for houses, cars, appliances, etc. I am adept at workworking, pottery, painting, ceramics, arts and crafts, and event organizing. I can also serve as a DJ. I am also a gourmet cook.
    I was a helicopter test pilot in the US Army. I have worked on Wall Street. I am in good shape and want to work away from a desk.

    Here is my linkedin profile >>> https://www.linkedin.com/in/russ-allen-4375a71/
    My reviews from airbnb stays are here >>> https://www.airbnb.com/users/reviews/3882825

  • Interests

    Beach
    Sailing / Boating
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Languages
    Architecture
    Performing arts
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Music
    Videography
    Technology
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Wide array. See list of skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Southern Ndebele: Fluent

  • Age

    54 & 50

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    My First Review on Couchsurfing!!! From Janke in Ostrava, Czech Rep >>> Confirmed Stay - Would Host Russ Again
    Russ is enjoyable and very social man. I mentioned a Halloween party, and he was ready to take a mask. He was also became a friend with all my friends. He was also lucky to have arrived at the weekend, so in the evening there are more people in the streets of Ostrava. We enjoyed the evening with karaoke, and Russ made friends with the whole pub.
    |
    He taught me to play Yahtzee. Together with my boyfriend and my friends, we and Russ have spent a nice weekend, I believe we will soon see. Russ is our friend, I hope to see you soon, and I can recommend him very much as a guest.

    =========================
    Here is a Helpx.net review from Andrius who let me work on his family's ecofarm ("Sironija") in Lithuania for the whole summer of 2017 >>>

    Russ is a super nice guy, very intelligent, low maintenance, a team player, an idea man, and a hard worker with many skills. He is one of the oldest workers we have ever hosted on our farm, yet, he was very respectful and accepting of working for someone half his age, and he is one of the best workers we ever had.

    Russ has a good heart and strives to do what is best for the host. During his stay, he did hard physical labor in the fields, gardened, helped with tea production, chased cows, challenged dogs, and did carpentry projects. He helped build a porch, an outhouse, a shower, a playground, a cellar, and a herb dryer with 40 hand-made shelves built into an old bus. He is a skilled carpenter and has many other skills and experiences which benefitted the farm.

    He is also fun and easygoing. He took our 6-year old fishing, taught several people how to play the harmonica, made balloon animals, planted a treasure hunt for a birthday party, designed and built a playground, made caramel, and helped the children with English. Later, he brought his daughter, Susan, to the farm for a weekend.

    He is now “Uncle Russ” to us. He will be a blessing to any host. We stayin touch afterwards.
    Graet luck for you!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback