Kerry

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Iceland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/07/2018 - 03/08/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    351

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello dear hosts,

    I am looking for longer term stays (min 2 weeks) so I can really experience a place and the culture.

    I am originally from Hastings which is location on the south east coast of England. I have traveled to/ visited 43 countries. My number one goal in life is to travel. The itchy feet don't seem to be going away any time soon so I thought I would sign up for workaway.

    I am independent, courageous and capable individual with a zest for life. I love meeting new people and I am very comfortable working with different cultures. As a mental health worker for complex needs I developed excellent communication skills both verbal and non-verbal. I am currently taking time out to practice self care as the job is very rewarding, it's also very taxing on my well being.

    I also have 20 years experience in the hospitality and catering industry. I was attached to the military for 12 years I managed arrange of catering establishments: Bars/ coffee shops/ cafes/ fish n chip shops/ fast food outlets/ burger stalls/ retail shops (spar shops) and a bowling alley. In very challenging conditions.

    I also successfully managed two public houses in the UK, whilst there was a pub closing every week.

    My focus in life is to be happy, joyful and love my life. I am a fun loving individual, who always looks on the positive side of any situation.

    I thrive on life challenges, excellent problem solver. Love to learn new things (especially languages but I seem to forget as soon as I leave the country) always growing to be the best I can be. Also inspire others to be the best they can be.

    My favorite quote is :

    "Our prime purpose in this life is to help others, and if you can't help them, at least don't hurt them" by Dalai Lama.

    Look forward from hearing from the great people on workaway,
    Best wishes,
    Kerry.

  • Type of help

    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Aide aux personnes âgées
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Autres
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Aide avec les langues
    Projet artistique
    Enseignement

  • What skills do you have?

    20 years experience within the catering and hospitality trade.
    Skills:
    Communication
    Listening
    Ability to work under pressure
    Time-management
    Self-motivation
    Adaptability
    Teamwork
    Budget
    Initiate change
    Cooking
    Cleaning
    Painting
    Caring/ looking after others
    Customer service
    Awareness
    Emotional and physical support
    Offering freedom of choice
    Excellent customer service
    Health and safety
    Food hygiene
    Fund raising

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    42

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    What others say about me;
    Polite
    honest
    helpful
    kind and caring
    great personality
    fun to be around
    Always thinking outside the box
    I grew up in a town called Battle (of Hastings), 1066 country in England. I love history and exploring old ruins castles, abbeys etc. I love walking and hiking. I will get lost in a good book, I prefer this over television. I would like to meet people who maybe are living of the grid and are self reliant, as this amazes me and I am interested in the struggles that you might of incurred to obtain this goal.
    Just completed 140 TEFL course.
    Part of the PVG scheme Scotland police check.
    Level 5 (Scotland) first aid.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Gluten

    • Special dietary requirements
      I follow a gluten free diet.

Photos

Northern Ireland April and May 2019.
Sweden August and September 2019, at a alpaca farm.
Knockinelder bay, Northern Ireland April & May 2019.
Iceland November 2019
Scottish borders at Bailey Mill. Lambing February & April 2019.
Portugal at a petting zoo. September 2018.
Dog sitting in the beast from the East Scottish borders. March 2018.
Peru 2017.
Cusco October 2017.
Peru 2017.
Reykjavik April 2018.
Algrave Portugal (where I was for 5 months) 2018.

Feedback