Sylvia

  • Germany
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! Salut! Hallo! Buenas Días!
    I'm a 58 year young single lady, born in Germany and living for over 3 decades in the Caribbean, mostly on the postcard island of Guadeloupe, that's one of the French Overseas Territories. Therefore I speak fluent French, German and English, as well as a bit of Spanish (I'm learning!). Inspite of my -oh so- restricted financial means, I managed to travel to many extraordinary places in my short life, mainly on islands, but as well continental Europe, the Maghreb, East Africa and the Indian Ocean. This globetrotting from a young age on brought an open mind and lots of tolerance towards different cultures and their peoples in my life. I was also involved in humanitarian actions in the Caribbean. Throughout my professional life I was mainly working in hospitality and tourism industry covering all domains from guestshouses, appartments to luxury resorts, mangement, marketing, training and all executive tasks (reception, housekeeping, restaurant). Nevertheless, I also experienced teaching and translating. Once could describe me as a nature lover and ecologist. As a vegan, I love and protect animals. I like sports in general, especially out doors like hiking, swimming, biking....
    I'm a passionate art, culture and history lover, I go to museums and galleries. I'm interested in all spiritual aspects of life. I inspire to get to know the countries I'm in "under their surfaces" whilst sharing the every-day-live with their people.
    Having been nearly 3 months in Morokko where I luckily had 3 fantastic volonteerings, I now arrived in the Canaries looking yet for another inspiring workaway.
    I already know the Canaries a bit and I'm in hopes to find this special place where I could volunteer and/or work whilst leaving a lasting positive imprint. Looking forward meeting my nexts hosts soon..
    Dears Sylvia (Syssy)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Hitchhiking
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I could teach French and English

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Being an elderly companion

    Some knowledge of:  

    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Languages
  • More details about your skills

    All tasks in regards of tourism and hospitality sector : management, computer, sales, organizing skills ( German Hotel School Degree + French Sales and Mrktg Degree)
    I speak fluent English, German, French
    Teaching : Languages/Reading+Writing/Industrial Cleaning
    I'm good with animals (active animal protector, basic knowledge, animal owner).
    I go very well along with kids.
    I adore gardening.
    Interior decoration, arts, music, intercultural exchanges..belong to my favourites.

  • Age

    59

  • What else ...

    I'm a social media user. Independant worker who loves working in and with a group though. New experiences are always welcome in my life.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegetarian (vegan), but very tolerant (if ever there are non vegans at the same table!)

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback