Raquel

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/08/2020 - 15/11/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    I am a positive, goal-oriented, focused, driven and free spirit who loves learning and living a Holistic Lifestyle. Travel is a passion of mine and gives me such joy.

    Cooking is a huge passion of mine and I definitely feel at home in a kitchen. I love to share love through food. I enjoy trying new recipes and experimenting with different global cuisines. Cooking with locally grown food is a huge blessing.

    I prefer quality of people to quantity. It is important to me to surround myself with like-minded people who will uplift me. I can learn from those with different mindsets than my own and am open to listening to any side.

    I am a passionate individual with a thrill for life and a desire to be of service. I feel drawn to healing and uplifting others.

    My dream is to live in a permaculture homestead which is self-sustainable. I envision individual living with shared spaces, such as the garden. We can achieve so much more when we work together! I would love to have a root cellar filled with all garden-grow preserved food; also an herbal medicine apothecary with boi-dynamically grown dried herbs, salves and tinctures.

    Someday, I will live on a regenerative piece of land amongst the mountains and trees, with running water and plenty of wildlife nearby.


    Switzerland is my birthplace and I am so grateful to be a citizen of such a wonderful country. Swiss-german was my first language (native tongue) but I lost the language as I grew up in America. I dream of re-learning Swiss-german and experiencing everyday life in Switzerland.

    I am a Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant and love learning and teaching others about how nourishing food is to our mind, body and soul and how every facet of our life has a affect on our well-being. Holistic Nutrition also looks at where and how the food was grown, the energetics of the food, and the impact of the food choice on the environment and others.

    Culture, cuisine and nature are my favorite things to explore in a new destination.

    I look forward to the opportunities for growth, education and joy while being of service at a Workaway!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about: 

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Cooking and raw food preparation , especially garden fresh, vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free. I can also cook meat dishes. I can cook a variety of global cuisines and look forward to learning new recipes.

    I have experience making meals as a private chef and for large parties (catering). I can fill up your freezer with meals of your liking, gourmet heat-and-eat meals.

    I excel in the kitchen, in the garden and the forest.

    I enjoy and have experience with gardening tasks such as weeding, watering, planting, pruning, and my favorite-- harvesting.

    I know how to make delicious spicy garlic dill pickles and the method can be applied to any low-acid food. I also made lemon shallot pickled asparagus this year.

    I like to be in the classroom as a student or the teacher, I appreciate being able to step into both roles.

    I have a special connection with children and can care for many ages. I love to cook for them, entertain them, play and laugh with them, teach them and learn from them.

    I learn quickly and adapt to most any situation. I like to learn new skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    Swiss, American

  • What else ...

    I love anything that involves nature; hiking, walking, skiing (water & snow), paddling, biking etc! I enjoy live music, quiet nights under the stars by a fire, jumping in the lake, preparing meals directly from the garden and more.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Always happiest in nature
Cassidy & I
Homemade basil pesto, locally grown zucchini and kale, crimini mushrooms, and onion stouts!
Alaskan Fireweed

Feedback