Marianne

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/04/2020 - 29/05/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    218

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am gifted with a positive nature, a healthy body, a wonderful family and a cosy home. That's a lot and I am happy to share my skills with other people in the world. My age doesn't stop me from still being very curious and eager to making new experiences. My heart is big enough for plenty of new friends. I am very conscentious, flexible, creative and communicative.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have always posessed my own hammer and like to work with my hands. I sow and knit clothes, but can also deal with paint (where I am quite fussy). For some years I have carved stone and wood. Four years ago I helped to redecorate a cottage and planned the kitchen with a special software. I have been working for interior architects and sold design furniture as a shop manager. I can deal with a lot of different people. For four month I ran an airbnb in a friend's house who was travelling the world and got *️️*️️*️️*️️*️️-ratings :-)). I am well organized and find my way around with almost any problem.
    I am quite fit which is a result of another devotion of mine: sports. In winter I do cross-country skiing, snowboarding and snowshoe hiking, in summer I like to cycle, swim, to row, to hike and to sail. I cycle almost everyday on my way to work and the bicycle is my favourite medium for long distance travelling around Europe. This also means I am not afraid of bad weather (which actually doesn't exist if I am well equipped). I am very glad that my body and my health allow me to feel a lot younger than I am. What's more? I have a sailing licence and a fish permit. In spring I collect plants for salads and soups and throughout the year I pick flowers, leaves and roots to make my own tea. I love watercolour painting and photography - mostly with themes of our planet's great nature.
    My skills in computing are higher than one would expect from my age. I made my own business website with Joomla. I help all family members and friends when the computer doesn't run any more. I am an aesthetical person and love to design websites and brochures. I quit my last job as a deputy secretary in a Swiss national NPO, where I was in charge of communication, fundraising and a variety of health and mobility projects.
    I adore my four grandchildren and generally children. When I was young I spent many months looking after children as an aupair, as a camp counsellor in the US or as a sport teacher for kids in swimming, orienteering, snowboarding and cross-country skiing.
    I love cooking and sharing my recipes with you! There is nothing better than to cook with fresh and local ingredients.
    I used to have serveral cats (my favourite pets) and adore their independend character. I get along quite well with educated dogs and love long walks with them.
    My gardening experiences are unfortunately limited to cutting brushes, digging out brambles and making room for "wanted" wild flowers. I would be happy to make new experiences in vegetable gardening!
    Last and not least my language skills. I speak fluently German, English and French and have also fairly good grammatical skills in these languages. In Italian I get along quite well, can read the newspapers and contribute in discussions. I have learned Spanish for a year at commercial school but quit because of the confusion with Italian. In autumn 2017 I enrolled again to a language school in my town and am happy to catch up with the Spanish I learned ages ago - and I enjoy it very much. But staying for some time in a Spanish speaking country would still make the learning a lot easier...

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, French, Italian, (Spanish)

  • Age

    64

  • Nationality

    Swiss

  • What else ...

    I have gathered a lot of skills so far during my life but im sure that experiences never stop. That's why I commit myself to projects like workaway. During 2016, I have been away workawaying for more than two months, in three different families, all of them in Ireland or UK. In spring 2017 I travelled again to Ireland to complete my curiosity about this beautiful country. And in spring 2018 I spent four weeks in Iceland, in autumn two weeks in Dordogne and two in Catalonia. As I have a 60+ saving card with the French railway company SNCF, I might just profit and travel to France again before autumn 2019...
    Mainly I am a generalist. But having been working for many years in offices and projects with a lot of administration, I would prefer to work with people - and if possible - in the fresh air - and in the countryside in a small town or a village. I quit my job in spring 2015, travelled to Alaska and enjoyed the hot Swiss summer. In autumn 2015 I started with my own small enterprise as a freelancer. This allows me to "take off" whenever I want to. Therefore, I plan to spend a month or two a year with workaway jobs. But I do not want to be away for too long in a row because my family (mainly my sons, my bonus daughter and her family, my grandchildren and my partner) are too important to me to just look for myself...
    Wherever fate will give me a few weeks in a new home, I will need to have a good bicycle at my disposal or the possibility to bring along my own (which I would not do by plane because of the high costs). Spending my free time exploring the world with a bicycle, my sketchbook and/or my fishing rod is for me just as valuable as sightseeing trips to tourist sites.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback