Susan & Denis

  • New Zealand
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Top Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

  • Description

    We are a married couple, both recently retired school teachers. We are enjoying great health, have a love of travel and meeting people and are looking to have more adventures. We have an extensive, organic, home vegetable garden and orchard, as well as chickens, on a lovely hill-side overlooking Tasman Bay in Nelson, New Zealand. Denis has just recently built a studio in the garden, as well as a greenhouse and potting shed, so we can spend even more time enjoying our garden environment. We are committed to environmentally-friendly practices like composting, collecting seaweed for fertiliser and recycling and repurposing materials for making garden structures. Other interests we share are: hiking, cycling, boating (rowing, kayaking and sailing), camper-van trips, reading and cooking. Denis has recently built our own St Ayles coastal rowing craft, which is crewed by 5 people, using 4 metre oars. He is an experienced and qualified rowing and sailing coach and is keen to share his knowledge of rugby if you have a local team needing assistance. Sue enjoys preserving the fruit from our orchard and is an amateur wine and liqueur maker. Sue studied French at university and is keen for the opportunity to immerse in French language and culture. We have three married daughters and now four young grandchildren who give us a lot of pleasure.
    We travelled to France in 2018 and worked at 4 different locations with Workaway. Most of our work involved gardening, both vegetable and ornamental. Denis completed a number of building projects including a trellis pergola/gateway and a large tree-house. We enjoyed our experiences so much we returned to France again in 2019.

  • Interests

    Water sports
    Van life
    Sailing / Boating
    Politics / Social justice
    Plant care
    Outdoor activities
    Movies & TV
    Events & social
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Eco Projects
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • More details about your skills

    Gardening, building, general maintenance, teaching, cooking, sports coaching

  • Age

    70 & 68

  • What else ...

    We are well-travelled, flexible and adaptable. We would prefer to have self-contained or separate accommodation as a couple. We pride ourselves as competent self motivated managers, so feel free to discuss work required, give us the appropriate tools and point us in the right direction. We will get the job done!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements