Steffen

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/02/2019 - 12/05/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    After living in Leipzig/germany for 13 years, I decided to leave this hypecity last year for doing some workaway in Portugal and now i am back on the track, escaping the winter and also looking for a piece of land somewhere. Dont know yet exactly about my future plans, but Portugal could be my choice.

    What did I do the last 12 years in Leipzig? I moved here to finish my education as a so called Heilerziehungspfleger, which is more or less an educator, but more specialized in working with mentally and physical disabled persons of all ages. After finishing that, I was working for 2 years in a Kindergarten with kids (2-7 years old).
    Then I got an job offer for running the booking, night management etc. in a music club called „Distillery“. I loved this job a lot as i had enough freedom in creating an interesting program, ranging from parties to workshops. But after 4 years it was quite difficult to push borders any further, so I decided to leave and travel South America for half a year.
    After being back in Leipzig, I was working in a venue which was a bikeshop by day and music bar by night. Was called Dr. Strangelove and thats whats it exactly felt like :D But was fun anyways.
    At the same time I got self-employed and had different jobs, like building shelfs for OBI, which is a big supermarket company for hardware here. I was also helping out a friend in his workshop with my basic skills and we have built custom made items for fairs for example.
    And inbetween, I tried to manage to travel as often as possible.

    As you can see, I am quite versatile and i guess also a bit curious ;) I am not a specialist in any of these things, but I can fulfill my tasks properly and some of them pretty good. Its always fun and interesting at the same time to learn something new, even if its sometimes a challenge. But thats what I love about this variety of jobs ….
    Maybe important thing to know for you: I don’t have a drivers license. I was never in need of it and all you need in Leipzig is a bike.
    My English is quite ok, although I feel kind of lost sometimes when I meet people from Manchester :D
    French and Spanish are super basic, you could also say not really existing. But I can understand a little.
    So why Work Away. For me it would be the perfect start for my adventure as I already mentoined above. I saved some money, but its not enough to make a living for long term and I also would like to learn portuguese step by step, without being under pressure or stressed. And of course thats a good way to get to know the country a little more, to get some more insights in new jobs, and last but not least meeting good people.
    I tried to keep it short and simple, sometimes my applications feel like writing a book. If you have any further questions, just let me know. And of course it would be super cool to have some Skype or whatever ..

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    Nothing too special. As i wrote in my description, i did couple of different jobs in my career and i am open to learn some new skills! But to make a quick summary:
    - Organisation (all kind of stuff, when i was working in a club i did the promotion, night managment of the club, managing the travels of the artists etc. )
    - My handicraft skills are basic, but i am pretty much ok with working hard! If you give me a proper introduction, i should be able to manage a lot of tasks
    - Customer Service

  • Languages spoken

    english, german

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    german

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback