Stefan

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Portugal - from Dec 2021
    View all
  • Description

    Hello, my name is Stefan, I'm 44 years old and at the moment I'm travelling with Jenny, my girlfriend I've been living and travelling with for the last twenty years.

    Last year we travelled through Europe by bike. In Italy we had three different workaway experiences and we really loved the off grid, self sustainable way of living. In the near future we hope to find ourselves a great place (old farm house) in the south of Europe. In the meanwhile we like to travel, with our new bought campervan, through that region and to spend good times at nice workaway places. We also are eager to learn more about self sustainable life.

    As most important thing I love creating, designing and building all kinds of things. I also like having a good time with good people, being in nature or just somewhere in the fields, crazy ànd beautiful art and funny things!
    I also like cooking, having a beer and a conversation with people.
    I try to be as environmental friendly as possible, like to see different places and people.

    The last ten years I owned, together with Jenny, a little company in a medieval farmhouse, consisting of: a Bed and Breakfast, a care farm (for people with a mental disability) and we designed and built furniture and pieces of art. We also decorated and designed interiors.
    One of my designs have won a prize.

    After ten years of hard working we decided we needed a break. We started biking through Europe in June 2020.
    In between our stretches of biking we both liked to stay at inspirational places for some time to meet and help other people and to do some useful work. Now, with our van, these goals didn't change!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Music
    Photography
    Technology
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I'm an enthousiastic, creative, caring and easy going person, willing to learn something new and I also like to feel (and be) useful.

    After graduating university (International Agricultural Trade) I had a few different office/computer jobs, but I found out I really prefer working with my hands, creating things. After design studies, I started to make furniture and art works.
    During my studies I've worked for a garden center/greenkeeper and a grower of plants.

    I have a long time experience with (vegetable) gardening and I'm also experienced in garden design, painting, renovating and maintaining the premises and an historical farmhouse, building furniture and simple wooden stuff, making web sites, creating art works, murals etc., thinking different than the standards.
    I'm a hard worker and willing to learn new things. I'm able to work as well independently as in a group.

    The premises and the farmhouse we worked and lived in for the last decade, we renovated together with some professionals. I've learned a lot then. I cannot build complete houses, but I'm a very good help
    I did a lot of the design work, stripping the building, did a lot of rebuilding, carpenting, painting, renewing floors, decoration and all kinds of DIY. During all those years we did
    everything we could by ourselves. Like making the website, doing the administration, repairing and fixing things, making streets, cleaning, creating paddocks and fields. I also like chopping wood and feeding animals.

    I travelled a lot, a few times for a one year period. During my journeys I have had jobs in New Zealand, Australia and Canada, mostly fruitpicking, pruning, thinning and gardening jobs.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    45

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback