Markus

  • Germany
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Super Workawayer
Explorer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    Photography, Language Exchange, Yoga, Meditation, Art

  • Description

    Hey there,

    I am Markus, a 28 years old traveler from Germany.
    I would describe myself as a fun, loving and friendly explorer with a passion for learning new things and gaining knowledge.

    One thing I love most about traveling is to get to connect with new people and expend my horizon and perspective by learning about different lifestyles, cultures and projects.
    Over the years, "Workaway" has not only brought many interesting and inspiring people into my life but has also given me the chance to dive into various job fields, develop new skills as well as improve old ones. (see skills listed below).

    For the past couple of years it has become very important to me to lead an environmentally friendly lifestyle and spend a lot of time in nature. I love running or long walks. And I am passionate about practicing yoga and meditation as well as photography.

    When I am in Germany, topping up my travel budget, I am working for a magazine as an Editor, Photographer and Layouter.
    But now, I am back on the road, back in this beautiful world and cannot wait to learn about new things, get out of my comfort zone, help other people and of course make new friends along the way.
    I hope you will be one of them.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Hitchhiking
    Yoga / Wellness
    Hiking
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    Languages:
    I am proficient in reading, writing and speaking English, and German.
    I speak French on a basic level but would love to deepen my French knowledge.
    Currently I am teaching myself Spanish.

    Gardening:
    Next to my main job, I have been a part-time gardener for almost ten years now. Mainly I was responsible not only for general maintenance like mowing the lawn, cutting hedges, planting plants and trees etc. but also learned things like how to prepare and install a natural pond, build walls with natural stones or pave an area.
    I would say I have a pretty good understanding of what has to be done in a garden and also how it has to be done. :-) I am passionate about working outside and love physical work.
    Also thanks to the many workaways I have done throughout Asia in which I have mainly worked on farms and gardens I was lucky enough to develop skills within working with tropical plants.
    Lately I have focused on working on permaculture farms and I absolutely love this concept of farming/gardening.

    Teaching English / Tutoring:
    When I was still living in Germany I tutored many pupils for many years (in English and French).
    I absolutely loved seeing them improve their skills and get better grades.
    Even though I am not a native English speaker I would consider my English skills as very good.
    Due to working for an English magazine, traveling around the world and having many English speaking friends I gained great knowledge about the English language.
    Again thanks to Workaway, I experienced what it is like to teach English in a different country without being able to explain words and grammar in German. A very interesting and valuable experience.

    Marketing / Graphic-Design / Layouting:
    Before I quit my main job to start traveling again, I worked for a well-established magazine, which brought out a monthly issue in German as well as English.
    I worked as an editor and layouter and had insights in the marketing department, which means I do not have any problems in writing catchy texts for you, layout them and promote them in order to make your poject even better known.
    I am also traveling with a reflex camera and even though I am not a professional I love taking decent images and edit them with my editing programs. This might come in handy for you also?!
    Please note that the laptop I am traveling with has no Layout-programs installed, which means I would either have to use yours if you have any, or try to find and use online programs which will probably not have all the tools.

    Carpentry / General maintenance
    Back in Australia I collected experiences within the manufacturing industry, since I was working for a well-established company who focuses on producing, assembling and installing blinds, windows and doors.
    I have to admit I am certainly not a professional when it comes to carpentry or things like plumbing. But yet again, thanks to Workaway I developed a basic understanding on how to get certain things done.
    I am a quick and motivated learner and I am pretty sure if you explain and show me some basic things I will get behind it pretty quickly and of great use for you :-)

    Also I have asked my former colleagues to describe myself. Here's their answer:
    Someone with good communication-, collaboration- and problem solving skills. A quick learner and an enthuiastic and motivated worker, who thinks critically, works well under pressure and is creative.

    Some of my Workaway experiences:
    - Teaching English to former drug addicts. (Laos)
    - Learning about and creating a stone garden, using traditional Japanese stone walling technique (Thailand)
    - Permaculture farming / working on self sufficient farms (India)
    - Photography / Editing / Marketing Project (Japan)

    At last I want to say that I am extremely motivated and am looking forward to learn more about different work fields and increase my skills in whichever area. I hope I will be able to help and support you with your project. :-)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    28

  • What else ...

    Enjoy the whole spectrum! :-)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Not allergic to anything

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian / vegan

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback