Soraya

From: Peru

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belize, Croatia, El Salvador, France, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Ireland, Italy, Nicaragua, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Venezuela

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/08/2018 - 09/10/2018

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hey!
    My name ist Soraya. I am a 21 year old girl, who enjoys the freedom of travelling and the chance to enlarge my perspective on the different forms of living in this world. I think one of the greatest things about being on earth is to interact with people, to share ideas and emotions and to come in contact with nature at different places.
    At the moment I am studying cultural anthroplogy in a friendly little town called Göttingen, in Germany.

    Something about myself:
    I like to be at and in the water, recently I learned some surfing and I am already very into it.
    I prefer to be in nature instead of the city most of the time. I read a lot.
    I am an open person. I tend to be very talkative with new people and old friends but I found out that some silent time for myself can be very fulfilling too.
    At this point in my life my interests are mainly alternative living forms, self sufficiency and (the connection between) different languages and cultures. And within this interests it is something really important to me to be connected with myself and to grow personally and spiritually which I tend to experience often in waves rather than in a continous way. Lately I engaged mostly with shamanism and a little with Tantra too.
    Since I am a little child, I am fascinated by native communities and their indigineous knowledge. In 2016 I finally went to a community in the Ecuadorian jungle and now my plan is to learn from natives for a longer term in my life and study their traditions and change. I might try my first field research in Papua New Guinea next year.
    I like cats a lot :)

    Skills:
    First I should mention that I love to be with children. Normally it is very easy for me to develope a connection with them. I think everybody should be a bit more attentive to what children can show us. It just makes me happy to be with them and to be part of their playful, imaginative world, even if I feel sometimes very exhausted after it.
    I did babysitting for 5 years before I started travelling. On my trip I did various projects with children. For example I was working voluntarely in a kindergarten in Cusco, I helped out in a primary school in the jungle and my last project was with a family in Panama, where I took care of their children for 2 months.
    I am also interested in languages. I am working at an online language school more than 2 years now and I really enjoy to explain language to different people, in different ages, from differnet countries.
    I can help adults with grammar material and speech practices, and with children I think it's fun to learn new languages in a playful, natural way. I have experiences with teaching German and English.

    I have made some experiences with farming on my trip. I was on a little organic farm in Colombia for one month.
    I worked in the garden of a hostel for two weeks. In the native community in the Amazon learned about planting Yuca, bananas and pineapples. I am always excited to learn more...:)

    See you :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching languages
    Childcare
    Farming
    Reception work
    Writing

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, Spanish

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback