Sophie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Greece, Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/08/2020 - 30/06/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello Hello,

    Sophie here...I'm 24 years old, graduated from University in 2019 with a degree in Ministry, as well as Creativity & Innovation. Those areas of expertise have helped shaped who I am and are continuing to influence my everyday life. That said, I've been spending the past year exploring opportunities & experiences that will hopefully give me a more specific idea of what I want to be pursuing in life.

    I'm currently interested in learning more about Sustainability, Market Gardens, Cooking (for dining experiences), Design for Change, Human Centered Design Consulting, and Education Systems.

    Workaway is a great tool to for learning and exchanging skills, but I've come to realize that it's often used as a means of free labor. I have two extra hands that are excited to help, but I'm interested in a legitimate exchange of skills/knowledge.

    In regards to COVID-19, I'm happy and willing to follow any quarantine/self-isolation guidelines hosts & countries have in place.


    Random stuff I've learned since University:
    - Views are better together
    - Sharing is caring (Mom was right, it's true)
    - Everyone deserves good design because design is dignity.
    - I've never met a person who doesn't enjoy music
    - Eat real food
    - But also, wine maybe should be a food group

    Cheers,

    Sophie

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Skills & passion include:
    - Using Human Centered Design to solve problems
    - Photography experience
    - Web design experience (cannot code, unfortunately)
    - Interior renovations
    - Collaborating
    - Cooking
    - Customer Service/Hospitality
    - Ideating
    - Community building
    - Market Garden experience
    - storytelling

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I've spent nearly 7 months volunteering through workaway within the past year. Starting at a B&B in Scotland, then helping with content writing at an adventure sports tourism business in Montenegro, a small holding in Northern Ireland, then I tapped into my creative side as an artist assistant in Galway, Ireland, and now I'm back in Scotland volunteering at The Free Company in their Market Garden. Although I've used workaway before, it was more of a means to travel inexpensively, but this time (2020/2021), I'd like to use it as a tool to learn and develop new skills in a new culture.

    A few things I love:
    - stories
    - community
    - hiking
    - wine & coffee & food
    - cooking
    - reading & writing
    - films
    - good/thoughtful design



    Excited to share a meal with you! (hopefully)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian. Mainly prefer to eat local, real food

Photos

Feedback