Sophia

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Spain
    View all
  • Description

    Hola!

    I have recently moved back to London after living and studying (Geography) in Manchester and I'm currently looking for a place to spend a few weeks away over the winter.

    I'm developing my artistic practice as a painter at the moment and recently graduated from the Lewisham School of Muralism. We learned about the practicalities of community engaged mural making and painted two group murals and did one solo project. The picture of chickens on the garage in my photos is my solo project. I had such a laugh doing this and I’m keen to continue painting place specific pieces.

    In 2018 I lived in Mexico for a year where I studied Art, Spanish and Anthropology. I was involved in some small/work away food growing projects whilst I was out there and found it was a great way to share skills and practice Spanish.

    I'm also currently doing a horticulture course, so I have a pretty good working knowledge of gardening and growing crops. I am definitely interested in expanding my expertise and learning to work in various different climates.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Languages
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Here are a few of the skills I've picked up through volunteering and travelling and would love to bring to any host:

    - Bar and hostel work experience from working at Urbany hostel in Barcelona
    - Barista and waitress experience
    - Qualified TEFL English Teacher
    - I have knowledge on building eco ovens, which I acquired in Nicaragua as part of a 2 month sustainable development project
    - Art installations and decorations for a number of music festivals
    - I regularly work with a charity called food cycle that collects surplus food from supermarkets and uses this to provide meals for the local community, so have experience in cooking for large numbers
    - Organising Fundraising events
    - Upcycling furniture

  • Age

    26

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback



Find your perfect host