Sonia & Steffen

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    Sonia's originally from Aruba, but has lived in Holland for 16 years. She's also lived in Bolivia for almost 2 years and in Portugal. In 2004 we traveled around the world and spent 8 months in New Zealand crisscrossing both islands. We volunteered in a hostel for a month on the North island, and Wwoofed for a week on the South island. We've also wwoofed in Portugal and done other volunteer projects through the Dutch branch of SCI in Italy and in Vermont (Solarfest) (through Volunteers for Peace). Sonia's always loved traveling and had the urge to get off the small island where she grew up. We've been (back) in Aruba for 3,5 years now and run a guesthouse in Sonia's childhood home by the sea. We try to get off the island at least 2 months a year and hope to eventually spend longer periods of time abroad.
    Sonia is interested in permaculture and sustainability, languages, food, the outdoors, music and travel and Steffen enjoys his work as a freelance graphic designer and is interested in typography, books , photography, nature, food, cooking and travel.
    We like to combine our travels with some help/work exchange in order to learn new things (esp. about farming/homesteading), meet new people and experience new places in a different way than mere tourists.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Cooking & food
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    We can cook, paint, clean, weed, (trans)plant seedlings, take care of pets, do graphic design (Steffen) or translation (Sonia)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    44 & 48

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    We run a guesthouse in Aruba (in Sonia's childhood home by the sea). For the passed 3,5 years we've been trying to grow some veggies in the backyard and have been battling against the elements: intense sun (heat), no rain, strong wind, no or poor soil (coral rock ground) and lots of pests. We long for some home-grown healthy food instead of the imported and inferior quality foods we get here (in Aruba) which come with lots of packaging which in turn ends up on the landfill. We also look forward to some nature and greenery, away from the desert and thorny shrubs.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback



Friends

Feedback