Verena

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2018 - 01/01/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Verena.
    I can't really tell you who I am (I still discover this myself - and I keep on learning all the time) but I can tell you a bit of my life story up to this date.
    I was born and raised in Germany.
    I spent a lot of time travelling the world, I lived and worked in many different countries and learnt a lot.
    Initially, I started off in the business world but there was never really any love. I later shifted to teaching English (yes, as a German native speaker and I think I was quite a good teacher - definitely a passionate one). It felt far more authentic than anything I had ever encountered in a business setting.

    After a year in India (also teaching English) I was drawn to some Buddhist concepts (very stereotypical). In India I also learnt about the spirit of community and how happy a simple life can be.
    It was quite hard to return to the Western world and I entered a phase of confusion. I partly returned to the business world but this did not work out any longer, I tried to fit in by living a 'standard' Western life, but this also did not work out any longer.
    I was being pushed towards other things...
    I volunteered in hospice and this was an incredibly rewarding experience. I also started a small import business, selling handwoven shawls from India, produced by some of my friends there.
    I started teaching again and at some point, after a bit of a search, I found a counselling method I really loved. I dived into this experience and learnt a lot about myself and also moved on the inner healing journey. I started supporting others in their journey as well.
    In 2018 I bought a beautiful camper van, called Eddie, and started travelling around Europe to explore this gorgeous land. But I also wanted to meet people who decided to live a life different from the conventional way. I met some lovely and inspiring people.
    In-between life gave me a few more learning opportunities, which helped me to further expand and move on my journey (a nice way of saying, sometimes it also incredibly sucked ;))

    What would I like to learn:
    I would like to learn about organic farming. Growing vegetables/fruits and keeping animals
    I would like to experience community settings
    I would like to learn about eco-tourism
    I would like to meet other people who are interested in sustainability, psychology/spirituality and are trying to live more consciously.
    I would like to meet you and really hear your story and listen to you.
    I would like an exchange of ideas and thoughts.
    I would like fun and laughter.

    What can I give:
    Curiosity: I want to learn from you, this is why I chose you. I am not interested in a free holiday. I want to learn and support you.
    Skills: I have some skills in marketing/sales, I have some skills in teaching, I have been working in gardens before - but I would not really call that skilled, I have experience working in tourism. I have limited experience working with animals.
    Conversation: I am happy to exchange stories and experiences
    Psychology/Spirituality: if you are interested in exchanging experiences here or would like to learn what I do, I am more than happy to share that with you, too.
    Cooking: I am not a five star cook but I happily try out and learn.

    What is a non-negotiable for me is honest and respectful communication.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Skills in tourism (reception, internet, bookings, tour guide, cleaning)
    Skills in teaching (CELTA qualified EFL teacher)
    Skills in sales and marketing (business studies)
    I started horse riding some time ago - so I have some skills there but would love to learn more
    Limited gardening skills (I raised my first tomatoes this year, from a little seed they grew into this big proud plant, yipeee)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

  • Age

    39

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    In the end it all comes down to happiness.
    The only satisfactory outcome can be: you and I are both having a good time. We can laugh, learn, treat each other and everything around us with respect.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prefer healthy food: vegetarian and fish. I hardly ever eat meat. Obviously, I dont expect you to pay for this but I love a good conversation over a glass of wine. If alcohol is not permitted where you are, I can happily live without while I am staying

Photos

Feedback