Solene

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Botswana, Canada, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Morocco, Namibia, Portugal, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2018 - 31/12/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    118

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi, my name is Solene. I just graduated with a master's degree in Foreign Languages applied to International Negociations. Before I start my professional life, I wish to take a few months in order to travel and see a bit more of the world. As part of my university degrees, I did a few long-term stays in mainland China, so I feel like I can easily adapt to differents cultures and situations, which is good for travelling. I am very excited to be finally free from school, and I can wait for the multitude of experiences and people to meet that await me!
    *️️️️️️Update*️️️️️️ I just started a new course to get a diploma on wild animal care. It's in a school that offers online courses, that way I can keep traveling. As for now I am going to mainly do animal related workaways so I can gather several different experiences.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a very adaptable and resourceful person, with the right explanation I should be able to do quite a lot of things.

  • Languages spoken

    French, English, a bit Mandarin, a bit Spanish

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    French

  • What else ...

    Workaway history:
    - MANOR, ESSEX, ENGLAND (October 2018):
    Garden work (weeding, triming, sweeping...), chicken care (taking them in and out for the night, egg picking, cleaning chicken coop...), renovating old cottages (sending & painting walls and windows, filling up holes in walls...), house maintenance, helping on events holding (preping the room, help clearing out during event and after event).
    - HOSTEL, BIRMINGHAM, ENGLAND (November/December 2018):
    Housekeeping (changing beds, cleaning rooms bathrooms and common areas), breakfast (preparing, supervising and clearing out breakfast), refurb (painting rooms, grouting bathrooms...), helping guests with anything.
    - FINCA, SINEU, BALEARIC ISLANDS, SPAIN (February 2019):
    Animal care (dogs, cats, chickens, sheeps, pigs (all rescued)), house maintenance (a challenge with that many animals around!), garden work (permaculture), renovating a room (painting).
    - CAT SHELTER, ATTICA, GREECE (March 2019):
    Animal care: cleaning cat living environment (big house with about 40 cats), keeping track with the food and water, giving medication to sick cats, cleaning cats with special needs, teaching new cats how to socialize with the others; working on taking good pictures of the cats to promote their adoption on social media; giving a lot of love. + taking care of 8 puppies and their exhausted mom.
    - ZOO IN HOLIDAY CENTER FOR DISABLED CHILDREN (April 2019):
    Animal care: feeding exotic animals and farm animals, cleaning enclosures; enclosures maintenance: fixing, enrichments; taking guests on animals tours (in English of French); general gardening; organizing outdoor space.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am a lifelong vegetarian (newly vegan but i am willing to be vegetarian during my workaway stays because I know accomodating a vegan can be too complicated)

Photos

Enjoying the nice weather in Chateau de Versailles (Paris)
Workaway in Portugal
Playing guitare in my mom's straw bale yoga room
Learning the traditional Chinese tea ceremony
Backpacking throughout China (Guangxi)
Holidays in Sicily (Italy)
Workaway in Mallorca

Feedback