Skye

From: South Africa

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2020 - 01/09/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    611

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I am a writer, permaculturist, Herbalist and traveler.
    I specialise in music, travel, lifestyle and environmental journalism and I also have extensive experience in copywriting, copy editing, online marketing, public relations and social media management.
    My other line of passion is with the earth. Having grown up in a home which actively incorperates permaculture practices and design systems. I have volunteered at a number of sustainable, off-grid, eco projects throughout South Africa and Latin America.
    I have completed a course in Permaculture Landscape Design and would love to involve myself in projects which work with the principles.
    I work with herbal medicine and wild fermentation and have learned a lot on the road, now create medicines to sell and use myself.
    I have a keen interest in natural building techniques, as it is a dream of mine to one day build my own home from the land I live on. So a primary goal is to also explore any natural building projects which come my way in a work environment in order to expand my skills.
    As a keen vagabond, I traveled through the UK, Ireland, Germany, France, Italy as well as the Caribbean (Grenada and Barbados) in 2017. I traveled through South and Central America in 2018 and 2019 and am now back.
    A music and environmental lover, I am always very keen to be involved in local environmental projects, musically-inclined events and generally getting to know depth of the local environment.
    I have had an alternative upbringing in South Africa, having lived all over the country, attending many festivals, brought up with an open minded and very free spirited approach to life. I enjoy keeping busy and fully immerse myself in any roles which I am presented with.
    I have a lot of experience in the hospitality industry - working at restaurants and at hostels in the past both behind the desk as well as being involved in the creation of the space.
    Overall I can bring a lot of drive, passion and energy. A love for the environment and a burning wish to expand my skills in working with it!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Permaculture design and implimentation - I am able to run short workshops outlining permaculture principles, design systems, soil conditioning and plant propagation.
    Herbalism - medicinal plant indentification and medicine making. I make tinctures, balms, salves and other extractions. I also work a lot with wild fermentation for gut health and can teach you to make kraut, pickles, fruit sodas, vinegars and hooch.
    General sustainability - lifestyle skills and implementation on living an impact-free life.
    Eco-system restoration - I have worked extensively on reforestation projects in South Africa.
    Event organisation and co-creation. I have volunteered (and worked) extensively in the music industry in South Africa and the UK - assisting in public relations, production, set-up, waste management, and greening.
    Writing - journalism, creative writing, poetry, copywriting, content creation.
    Public relations.
    Social media management.
    Online marketing.
    Working with Wordpress and other website building platforms.
    I can play guitar, piano, kalimba (African thumb piano) and I sing.
    I have a large family and I work well with children.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    South Africa

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback