Skelly

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2017 - 24/10/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    51

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello and welcome to my profile!

    I am doing the tour of South-East Asia and I have no time limit or agenda to work to so I am entirely flexible and open to new opportunities. I have just completed my fifth Workaway on Langkawi where I managed a hostel with 42 guests and 8 staff on behalf of the owner for two months. I am now heading for Thailand to see what opportunities await me there! (March 2018)

    My first workaway was at a dog rescue centre in Arambol, India where I re-wired the entire place and constructed some basic rooms for other workawayers and of course, took care of the dogs which were there. My second was at a hostel in Querim, India where I constructed a chill-out area complete with sari roof and colour-changing LED's as lighting and my third was at an orphanage in Pondicherry where again, I re-wired and constructed but in my own time I taught English to 26 boys and even taught them a song for their Christmas gathering (Silent Night) which went well! (October to December 2017)

    I then came to Malaysia and worked a month at a men's HIV and AIDS refuge where I constructed a triage room and yes, I re-wired much of the property! (January 2018)

    Update: June 2019
    I spent two weeks sunning myself in Thailand before entering Cambodia where I have been for well over a year. I started a ten-day Workaway at 'The Playground', a renovation project set to open their doors six months later and I ended-up staying there for the whole six months and see this guesthouse open!
    I now work as an English teacher at Singapore Amicus International School here in Kampot and have done so for eight months and counting but the travelling bug is biting hard so, as much as I love this job, it's disadvantaged children that I ultimately wish to teach but this experience (an accumulation from here and the UK of more than two-thousand classroom hours) will serve me very well in the future in a voluntary position.

    I have an abundance of practical skills; I have written a book and some poetry so have an excellent command of spoken and written English and have worked as a Teaching Assistant in a British Special Needs School for six months which I loved so, wherever I am I will be happy to teach and help with conversational English, basic math and some physics if asked - knowledge is for sharing after-all! My third Workaway was at an orphanage in India where I taught English as a second language and even taught them a song; that was an awesome experience!

    I am a qualified counsellor and have worked as a suicide and trauma counsellor helping vulnerable people and I have also worked as an independent counsellor in the private sector often for free; apparently, my personality will not allow me to turn away from someone in need! Jesting aside, it makes me more happy than money ever could.

    If you allow me to come and stay with you then you will find me to be enthusiastic with an excellent attitude and a quiet and calm approach to life. I am hear to give to you but also to learn from you and am very interested in learning your language and your culture and experience life as you experience it so if I have messaged you for a place, please consider me; I will bring nothing but positives!

    Thank you for reading this and have a great day.

    Kind regards
    Skelly.

  • Type of help

    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • What skills do you have?

    English Spoken. English Written. An excellent listener. Good basic math skills and good physics knowledge. I have practical skills that include basic electrics, plumbing, tiling and most other aspects of building and maintenance of properties and although my knowledge is UK based, I have the ability to apply it to any new challenges that come my way. I also qualified as a mechanic in my youth so I can fix most things mechanical from small engines to tractors!

  • Languages spoken

    Only English but always learning. (Very slowly!)

  • Age

    50

  • Nationality

    English (UK)

  • What else ...

    I am patient. attentive and understanding. I am confident and self reliant and am able to make good, independent decisions. I am always polite, safe, honest and helpful and I will greet everyone with a warm smile. I love the stars, thunder-storms, big waves crashing on the rocks and I love being up high. Nature and wild-life fascinates me and anything that works alongside nature instead of against it is awesome to me. I love learning new skills and teaching skills that I have to others. I love life and I want to share it.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I have been known to have a strong reaction towards people who bully and intimidate others.

    • Special dietary requirements
      Haha! I eat pretty much anything but I do need a big plate full at the end of the day!

Photos

Feedback