Sissy

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia, Costa Rica, Germany, India, Madagascar, Nicaragua, Portugal, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2016 - 01/04/2019

  • Badges


  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey (: My Name is Sissy, and although I always find it hard to describe myself, I´m going to give it a try.
    I´m an adventurous, warm hearted girl (so my friends and family say :D), on my way to find inner balance, and in search of places that are peaceful, have an unique atmosphere and let me reconnect to nature.

    I have been traveling around the globe for quite some time; working and volunteering as a freelancer in Photo- and Videography. The last year I have been seeing Central and Southamerica while I was working on a ship.
    I would like to share my skills in the media but also happiness and joy! :)

    At the moment, while I had a lot of time to process and think during the global pandemic, I´m searching for projects in the nature and wild - with "easy" tasks as gardening, farming and building. Tasks where you can immediately see the process. Furthermore, I would love to get an insight working with Wilderness Therapy and Nature Education in projects for children or adults.

    My last Workaway experience was at a coconut plantage in Sri Lanka and supporting a watersport school in Portugal.
    Very much of interest is the possibility to live sustainable, to have the opportunity to do some watersports, and to learn more about Yoga. Since three years I found peace in being in the hands of mother ocean and interacting with the waves through surfing. It has been my greatest gift so far.

    Some words on my ideas of Volunteering....My aim is to work on something together with people from all over the world in order to support good ideas - especially projects that take care of our planet, the ocean or the people who live on it. I like to create new things and help building up new projects that improve the communication und understanding between people.

    I love to be active in nature whenever there is a possibility - to wander, to do sports and to explore new places. 2013 I did an EVS in an NGO in Northern Greece, close to the border of Albania and Macedonia, in the middle of a national park. I have been working together with six other volunteers and supported the local community and Youth Centre, and promoted the Biotourism in the Cultural Triangle. Since that year, I always volunteered or combined my work with the support of good projects.

    After my studies and my voluntary service I found a job on a ship which allowed me to travel and work. As a Video Operator and Photographer I had the chance to see places like Norway, Spitzbergen, Iceland, England, Ireland, the whole Mediterranean Sea, Oman, VAE, Egypt, Jordanian, the Caribbean, Azores and many more.

    Apart from that, I love to explore new cuisines, cook great meals, dance contemporary classes, do handicrafts and spend, of course, lots of time with family and friends.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    If you are looking for someone creative, I can help you with taking pictures and videos since this is my profession. But I also make the best bruschetta and vegetarian lasagne :)
    I care about the environment and the right ethical treatment of animals, so I´m not scared to get my hands dirty while building up an eco house or cleaning cats houses.
    In addition, I have the experience of working in tourism. I can assist with tasks like reception, cleaning or with online marketing and creative ideas of any kind. I´m a fast learner and willing to have a go at anything!
    Facts.
    - Bachelor of Arts in media production and professional education as an audio visual mediadesigner
    - can produce short films and quality photographs
    - love to work in a team as well as realizing own projects independently
    - used to daily customer service, working 24/7 on ships, international crew and environment
    - strong environmental concern and active for animals rights
    - experience in NGO work through European Voluntary Service one year in Greece
    - dancing, yoga and pilates skills

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    german

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian / Vegan

Photos

Feedback