Simona & Michael

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2021 - 31/08/2022

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi!
    We are Simona and Michael. We left the Swiss snowy mountains to realize our biggest dream: traveling around the world for an indefinitely amount of time. Corona has changed our destinations and way to move but never stopped our desire to wander. That is why in summer 2020 we bought a van and we turned it into our home!
    We are just finishing our first 7 months around Europe.

    Together we made many cool travels around Europe, India and North America that increase our passion for all the positive sides of travel in contact with local people, nature and culture.

    We strongly believe that curiosity, kindness and openness are the best coordinates for (our) happiness and we think that time is the most precious gift universe gave to us. That is why we decided that TIME should be on our sides !

    ------------ something more about us!-----------------

    SIMONA

    I am Simona, an easy person with the typical traits of the passionate traveler: adventurous, easygoing and curious towards diversity, human and non-human diversity. I am also a biologist and science teacher, animal and nature lover. I grew up in a small and beautiful piece of southern Switzerland. I graduated in ethology and parasitology and I recently discovered my passion for environmental education that lead me to work with kids and teens and complete a diploma that able me to teach science.
    I am a teacher, but my passion is also learning, in particular about the different ways of thinking and approach life. I love learn about nature, culture, cuisine, history of the places I visit. I like photography (in particular nature, b&w), video making, diving, hiking and cooking (and eating!). Special mention for beer, that I always love!!
    Travel is part of my identity and I think is a fantastic way to improve my skills and myself. I travelled in North America, India, Australia and Europe.

    MICHAEL

    I have an english first name but.. I am a 100% Italian guy living and working in Switzerland for the past three years as waiter and farmer. I grew up in the beautiful lands of Emilia-Romagna in Italy where I graduated as agriculturist. I worked as waiter for 7 years and I also have experience as farmer. I started a new adventure in Switzerland where I met Simona four years ago. I am a kind, flexible and helpful person. I like test my limits and be engaged in new experiences.
    I have a strong passion for enology and I am always available for a good glass of red wine. I love hiking and biking along the river and in the mountains. I am also a good eater and I never refuse local food of the places I visit.
    I also like cooking and I would honored to prepare an Italian or Swiss delight for my hosts, but also learn new ones!

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Animals
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Photography
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    History
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    SIMONA
    - I am a teacher and biologist. I have experience in lab research, in particular in marine wildlife research. I worked with kids and teens in environmental education.
    -I worked for the last 1.5 years as coordinator for an NGO swiss association who organize events and workshops that inspire people for a more sustainable and sufficient life style.
    - I have some "building a van" experience, so many DIY ideas and creativity to share.
    - I speak fluently three languages (italian, french and english).
    - I have experience in photography and video making.
    - I know diving, an activity that I practiced for the last five years. I have been riding horses for over 10 years.
    - I have experience in child care.
    - I know cooking pretty good and I manage to do most basic housework.

    MICHAEL
    - I have experience as farmer and in gardening.
    - As waiter, I am good in all tourist services, bar service and catering.
    - As Simona, I have some "building a van" experience, so DIY building skills.
    - I am a pretty good in cooking.
    - I am fluent in italian and learning english.
    - I am a good hiker.

    We are both interested in learning everything that goes under sustainability, animal care, life at a farmstay and building-projects. We hope to be good workers and guests that atune to your needs so do not hesitate to contact us for any infos!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    30 & 27

  • Nationality

    Swiss and Italian

  • What else ...

    We offer to our kind hosts good stories, company, science anecdotes, delicious Italian and Swiss recipes to share!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback