Shawna

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Bulgaria, France, Greece, Italy, Kyrgyzstan, Morocco, Panama, Portugal, Spain, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2018 - 31/12/2018

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    I grew up in California, on the beach, learned French in school starting at the age of 3, and have been living in New York City for the past 15 years. I am traveling in search of bigger things - the opportunity to see new places, meet new people, experience different ways of life, and get my hands dirty.

    Je suis élevée en Californie, à côté de la plage; je suis allée à une école franco-américaine dès l'âge de 3 ans, et j'habite à New York ces dernières 15 annèes. Et maintenant je veux changer de voies, découvrir un peu le monde, rencontrer des gens, explorer de différentes modes de vie, et retrousser mes manches (à mon avis la meilleure façon d'apprendre!).

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I have been working in the service industry for the last 10 years. I am also a certified instructor in English as a Second Language (CELTA). However, I have learned something of gardening, painting, light mechanical and shop work...

    I have managed to learn pretty much anything anyone was willing to show me. While traveling I have improved my painting and finishing skills, learned how to pour concrete and work with sheet rock, and have explored lands on foot, bicycle, and motorbike, learning new language skills and enjoying cultural exchange through immersion in different ways of living. I have worked on projects in groups and on my own, and have always felt comfortable taking instruction as well as criticism.

    I am excited to work on more construction, renovation, and garden/farming. I am hoping to have the opportunity at some point to get exposed to hop-growing and beer brewing, vineyard work and harvest, bee-keeping, and cheese-making.

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, some Spanish

  • Age

    36

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I love building and creating. I love seeing the fruits of labor and gleaning all the small tangential lessons that come with working towards a larger goal.

    I have been living and working in a city that never sleeps for over a decade and continue to enjoy getting to the roots of things, smelling the earth, and watching the sunrise.

    While I do smoke cigarettes, I always defer to my host and respect the rules of the household.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

New stairs
Camping at the Refuge
Landscaping in Greece
The end of another good day of hard work
Colorado door
Overnight ferry to Crete
Lao sunset

Feedback