Shawn

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/11/2019 - 31/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Shawn is my name, adventure is my game! After years of being a working professional in the architecture/engineering fields, it is time for me to explore the amazing landscapes, cultural diversity, and most importantly, the wonderful humans this world has to offer. Over the past few months I have been travelling in the UK, Europe, and Eastern Canada attempting to fully embrace the present and cherish the incredible connections I have made with people from across the globe.

    If I had my choice, I would very rarely be found with a roof over my head. Sun, rain, or snow, embracing the elements and seeing the beauty in our environment is always on my to do list. Being from southern Ontario, Canada, we certainly have a variety of each - sometimes on the same day!

    I am eager to dive into new and unfamiliar territory and gain insights to varied ways of life from a local's perspective. I believe that learning values, traits, and traditions from other cultures can only benefit in bringing us closer together to build stronger bonds of acceptance, compassion, and understanding towards each other. I can be quiet and introspective at times, but also love being social with a good laugh just the same.

    I look forward to being not only a valuable worker to have around, but hopefully a positive presence bringing good vibes to you and your home!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I feel that my skills are quite varied as I enjoy getting my hands dirty with many different things. Going to school for Architectural Technology I have a wide comprehension about buildings, structures, and site design. Growing up in rural setting with animals and partaking in home renovations has taught so many valuable lessons about animal care and how to use variety of tools - safely. Below is a list of some of the things I have a working knowledge or experience with;

    - Construction - using a variety of hand and power tools efficiently
    - Knowledge of plumbing, electrical, and mechanical systems (although always looking to improve)
    - Operation of machinery, tractors, and lawn mowers
    - Basic vehicle mechanics
    - Experience doing landscaping and light concrete work
    - Tending to animals both domestic and livestock
    - Good physical health for labouring tasks
    - Woodworking and lumber processing (cutting wood and planing to cabinetry and assembly)
    - Gardening and planting
    - Household duties, washing and keeping clean spaces

    However, I think my greatest skill is the ability to learn with a positive mindset. In my past career as a 3D modeler, I was in charge of training others, so it really helped me understand how to learn and communicate effectively in two directions.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    I work hard, and like to play hard engaging in many sports and outdoor activities from hiking and rock climbing, to volleyball and hockey, to an intense game of cards! Over the past few years, mindfulness and meditation have been a big part of my life. I have gained many insights and met amazingly influential people through the practice. I quite enjoy meaningful, intellectual conversations just as much as joking around and never "growing up". On a rainy or quiet night in, I love watching documentaries (usually about culture, travel, and nature). Music is a big passion of mine and I love sharing new artists, checking out shows, and playing the drums. Motorcycling is also near and dear to my heart and I certainly am missing my bike back home! I am quite a big fan of starry nights around a large campfire with good company.

    I have no idea what is around the corner for me, but this continues to excite me and keep me moving forward to step outside my comfort zone and push the limits.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback