Shawn

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Panama, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/12/2020 - 30/06/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Reading all the wonderful descriptions of people's farms and ideas on how to live an eco-friendly and self-sufficient lifestyle has inspired me. Last year I was looking for volunteer opportunities and after finding this site and a few like it I realized it's completely possible to travel around the world helping others and learning everything I can about organic farming and sustainable living by spending three or more weeks on all different kinds of farms and properties. I've also traveled in the past to many places around the world so I'm very comfortable with other cultures.
    I consider myself to be a very helpful and handy person to have around with over 10 years of construction experience including carpentry, masonry, tile, painting, roofing and most other construction related work. So far I've volunteered on about ten different properties building cabins and chicken coops, repairing rooftops, working with dairy and wild cows, repairing fences, harvesting fruits and nuts, and I've been improving my cooking skills as well.
    There seems to be a lot of people with a good idea or a good project that would like some help in exchange for a bed,food,culture, and knowledge; and I'm excited to be a part of it.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Construction- carpentry and tile are my favorites.
    And I'm very comfortable around animals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    40

  • What else ...

    Creativity is very important to me and I appreciate the moments I can include a little extra care and love into a project.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback