Sharon

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Scotland, United Kingdom
    View all
  • Description

    My name is Sharon, and I live in the United States. I have recently retired from my career as a city planner in Anchorage, Alaska. I’ve traveled extensively much of it in developing countries. I lived in Saudi Arabia for eight years. I experienced a diversity of cultures there at a young age. Now that I am retired, I want to continue to travel and volunteer abroad. My interests are in Permaculture, gardening and food-systems, developing homesteading skills, design and planning. My desire to be involved with Workaway is so I can be immersed in local culture, by living and working with local families. This will allow me to broaden my cultural awareness, through meeting new people, while increasing my knowledge/skills and having fun.

    During my free hours, now, that I’m retired, I spent it working part-time at an outdoor recreational store, REI in Colorado. I enjoyed working there because I like helping customers get the right equipment for their particular outdoor activity. While not working, I organized and hosted movie nights for fellow movie-loving residents at my apartment building.

    I have two grown daughters and they tease me that when I travel, I cannot resist analyzing the space I’m moving through due to my background in design and planning. I have a habit of observing the way spaces are designed and how and why the place works and what makes it special. This is why I find travelling to other countries so interesting.

    I’ve attended several International Permaculture Convergences around the world and have been fortunate to meet Bill Mollison and David Holmgren.

    Volunteer opportunities wanted include: animal husbandry, beekeeping, fruit tree grafting, acquiring homesteading skills, fermenting, seed saving, cheese making and similar skills. I'm particularly interested in assisting in the establishment of a forest garden or managing an existing one. Learning more about the buildings trades would also be welcome.

    • Education: Bachelor’s Degree in Geography and a Master’s Degree in Landscape Architecture.
    • Certifications: Permaculture Design Course (PDC) and a teaching certification in permaculture. I was part of a three person team that organized two PDC courses in Alaska.

    I've worked for several landscape design and build firms as a laborer and then as a designer and supervisor. I helped with home remodeling for two small construction companies.

    I had eight raised garden beds at my home in Anchorage that a friend and I built. I filled the beds with composted goat and llama manure and had an amazingly productive harvest year after year.

    I look forward to discussing more about how I could be of help!

  • Interests

    Nature
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Architecture
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Movies & TV
    History
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Teaching
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    I have experience in gardening, permaculture, landscape design and installation, emergency preparation, and have been learning primitive skills.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I studied Spanish and French in school and university. I can read fairly well in both languages but struggle with speaking. Interested in improving proficiency and learning new languages.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    58

  • What else ...

    I’m an avid lifelong reader and used to have a collection of 2,000 books.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      mostly vegetarian

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback