Sophie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/03/2020 - 15/08/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! I'm Sophie and I'll be spending most of the spring/summer 2020 volunteering on land-based projects in the UK before I start a masters in the human geography of climate change in September. My particular areas of interest are sustainability, green woodworking, beekeeping, crafts, plant and mushroom identification, and permaculture, although I also hope to get stuck in with lots of things that are new to me! I'm hard-working, friendly, and love community life.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Teaching

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    - I have beekeeping experience from volunteering with a couple of projects in London and Argentina, so have the knowledge for helping with things like hive maintainence, honey extraction, requeening etc
    - I'm teaching myself the basics of green woodworking, and enjoy making spoons and ornaments with hand-tools
    - I have experience teaching English as a second language
    - I can use a sewing machine
    - I'm a decent cook!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Chinese (Mandarin): Intermediate

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Dairy

    • Special dietary requirements
      Veggie and lactose intolerant so basically vegan

Photos

Feedback