Sophie

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Friends (4)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Puerto Rico - from Oct 2021 until Jan 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello! I am a 26 year old college grad from Burlington, Vermont and I have a passion for traveling!

    I can be shy at first, new places/people can be overwhelming for me at first but I settle in quickly. I am fun, energetic and outgoing but I also love my alone time to read, draw, and reflect. I have always dreamt of traveling but there was never a great time until now. I have traveled on short trips to South America, the Caribbean and Asia. I love to learn about new cultures, and different ways of living around the world. I have taken beginner language courses in Spanish, French and Italian but would like to further my skills.

    I have worked for years caring for the elderly as well as adults with disabilities. My work is what drives me to be a better person and I have learned so many life lessons from the people I care for. In my free time I enjoy playing with my 2 cats, being active outdoors (hiking, swimming, biking etc.), but also relaxing with a good book on the couch. I love to make art both by hand and digitally. My friends and family have a huge impact on my life and who I am as a person. Making strong connections with others pushes me to be a better person and learn more about who I really am.

    What I am looking to get out of Workaway is a new look on life and to find a better understanding of who I am and who I want to be. I want to learn about the world around me and get out of my comfort zone. I am open to learning and helping as much as I can as well as making lasting friendships along the way:)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    I have worked with the elderly population for years in nursing homes. I absolutly love the work that I do not only because I am helping others in need but I am making an impact in their lives. I have learned more about myself than I had thought possible. I have also worked with adults with disabilities in day programs and also have a sister with Downs Syndrome who I help out with. Through all of this I have learned patience, compassion and a strong drive to help others.

    I also studied art for a few years in college. I love to draw, paint and do art on my computer for fun! I love helping in the kitchen and am an excellent cleaner!

    I spent 2 weeks volunteering on the Galápagos Islands helping with animal care and land conservation. This experience not only gave me a taste of other cultures but helped me get out of my comfort zone by getting my hands dirty.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I am very interested in learning the native language of wherever I travel to as well as helping others around me to learn english

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    I have had cats, dogs, ferrets and fish growing up and absolutly love being surrounded by animals.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback

This Workwayer has not received any feedback yet.