• United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)


Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently


  • Description

    Hello! I'm Scott. I'm 32 years old and I was born and raised in Florida. I'm very much a go with the flow type of guy. Most people would describe me as a relaxed, easy going person who loves being out in nature (hiking, camping, biking, kayaking, you name it). At the same time however, I am also driven by a sense of adventure, learning new things and also by particular goals and visions.
    At the moment I am really interested in learning spanish and experiencing different cultures throughout central and south America.
    I have a passion for the outdoors and the natural environment, with its seemingly endless variety of flora and fauna. Accompanying this love is a desire to protect it. I had always thought that doing work as a scientist was the best way to contribute to preserving the balance between society and the natural world. However, upon obtaining a degree in Environmental Biology, I realized that the greatest way in which we can make a difference is to transform our own lives into a more sustainable one and to help others do the same.
    Since then, I have been learning all that I can. From building sustainable structures, to producing food in a way that regenerates the environment. I have also learned about permaculture design principals back to nature approach in creating harmonious systems and this has further inspired me to live sustainably. I hope to one day create a sustainable property of my own (somewhere in the tropics) built around permaculture principals that is able to support not only myself, but friends and family as well.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Work experience:
    I have worked as a cashier and in a cash office during college.
    I have also had jobs installing solar panel systems and water treatment systems and have gained valuable handyman experience with plumbing and electrical.

    Volunteer experience:
    I have worked on three different farms in Hawai'i. Caring for plants, harvesting, composting, and managing pests.

    In Costa Rica I worked on a vacation property called Bali Rica in which I kept up with maintenance and repairs of the property, fixing doors, fences, sanding and varnishing cabins etc.

    In Colombia I volunteered at an english school (New Western) as an english teacher where I planned and tought lessons and monitored students progress.
    Also in Colombia I volunteered at casa de las palmas hostel in which I worked as a receptionist and as a translator for tour guides in the amazon jungle.

    In México, I have volunteered in two hostels (Barrio Vivo in Merida and Puerto Vieja in San Cristobal). I have worked reception, cleaned bedrooms and bathrooms, changed beds, worked night shifts and entertained guests.

    I have some but even less experience in carpentry (recently built a floating dock on my own as a fun small project, a picture of it is on my profile!) and I would love more experience in this area.

    I have worked several years at a grocery store and have gained costumer service experience from that. I also have an intermediate level of spanish but I am not fluent in the language (yet). I love any chance to improve my spanish.
    I am more than willing to learn and help out with things that I am new to as well!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I am currently getting my TEFL and I am interested in both teaching my own native language as well as learning Spanish!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age


  • What else ...

    Other hobbies and interests include:
    snorkeling/scuba diving
    Flow arts
    eating healthy
    and learning how to grow food
    Currently learning spanish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements