Sayward

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2018 - 01/10/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm half English, half German. I was born in England and lived there until the age of 9 when my family moved to Germany. Up until that point I didn't actually speak any German at all, and now it comes as naturally to me as English.
    I am a fully trained vet's assisstant, so naturally I love animals, all and any animals. I've grown up with dogs, cats and various other animals.
    I have been a vegetarian since the age of 16, gradually becoming more vegan, and now I am fully and strictly vegan. I would always prefer to stay with a vegetarian or vegan host, but will find a way to sustain myself amongst omnivores as well!
    After my veterinary training I spent a year workawaying and am now studying Linguistics at university. I hope to continue travelling via Workaway in my free time between semesters :)

    I have been lucky enough to be raised in an environment full of laughter, and enjoy regular in-depth discussions about ethics, life, anything! I will always be up to discuss the most difficult of subjects - I believe anything should be possible to discuss openly and without judgement of others. A good sense of humour and frequent self reflection doesn't hurt either! Don't worry, I also enjoy being by myself and exploring on my own at times.
    Hobbies of mine include spending time with animals, reading, discussions, discovering new music, seeing beautiful nature, travelling with friends, laughing for the sake of laughing...
    I grew up in the countryside and do not shy isolation from "civilisation". I am very interested in eco-friendly projects and living a sustainable lifestyle.
    I'm open to pretty much any work offered to me. I learn quickly and gladly, and am proud to say that my years as the sole assistant to a sometimes difficult vet have trained me to be durable under stressful situations, should such a thing arise. I want to experience the world - others' customs, work, their daily lives!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am great with animals and people! Interacting with others is what my life is about. Telling stories, entertaining people, making people laugh and creating new friendships are definitely strengths of mine.
    Languages are a passion.. if I could I would learn every one I come across! I have helped many an exchange student with their German and enjoy teaching and explaining language-related things - I have actually been told repeatedly that I would make a great language teacher.
    I wouldn't feel comfortable saying I'm a wonderful cook, but I am not entirely incompetent and am prepared to help with meals.
    I enjoy doing physical outdoor work, from light garden work to just carrying stuff around!
    Art is a subject I love, and anything that requires my creativity will be greatly welcomed by me.

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent English and German, some French and Spanish

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    English/German

  • What else ...

    Unfortunately, in the past few years I have developed an allergy to horses. Having horses around is not generally a problem, but interacting with them greatly is no longer something I can do.

    I am a vegan and would prefer a vegetarian or vegan host, but am able to sustain myself around omnivores as well.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Horses, unfortunately!

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegan

Photos

Me with one of my best doggy friends
Fundraising with family and friends for a charity walk
Our Indian friends gave us a sari-draping lesson...
During a Workaway in Sweden :)

Feedback