Sarah

  • Australia
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

  • Description

    Hello!
    I’m Sarah, an Australian girl from Sydney, who is setting off on an extended backpacking trip around the world.
    On my travels, I hope to learn new skills, experience new cultures and cuisines, practice languages, make new friends, and just enjoy life!

    I hope to undertake Workaways that:

    *️️️️️️️Allow me to explore my creative side; whether it's with photography, painting, creating objects, or baking. Let's see what we can create together!
    *️️️️️️️Work with animals
    *️️️️️️️Teach me about small-holding, and farm to table.

  • Interests

    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    Books
    Videography
    Photography
    Blogging
    Cooking & food
    LGBTQ
    Politics / Social justice
    History
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    HOBBIES
    I am very interested in photography and videography, but am still very much an amateur.
    Landscapes, astrophotography, portraits, and street photography are my favourite genres.
    Another hobby of mine is cooking and baking.
    I’m always happy to help in the kitchen, and hope to gather many recipes from around the world.

    INTERPERSONAL SKILLS
    While I am quite an introverted person who can come across as shy, I do enjoy the company of people.
    A great advantage of my introverted nature is that I can be trusted with solo tasks.
    In the "real world", I have worked in a variety of Customer Service roles.
    In these positions, I was the first point of contact for customers contacting via phone and email, as well as in person.
    Taking 50+ phone calls in a shift, all of whom want to "talk to the Manager", does wonders for conflict resolution skills.
    I’ve also worked in the hospitality industry, in both a large restaurant with a big team, and a small cafe with only two wait staff on the floor.
    Waitressing has taught me to be as efficient with my time as possible.
    Even when working in a large team, you’re always thinking about 5 things, actively doing 3 things, checking with your colleagues that everyone is happy, and expected to answer any questions your floor manager has about your customers.
    Not to mention knowing the menu backwards and forwards!
    If you need something done, just let me know and I’ll do it.

    FARMWORK AND ANIMALS
    I've had the pleasure of undertaking 3 farm based Workaways, all focusing on a different discipline.
    Obviously, though, I am still very much a novice, and very keen to keep expanding my knowledge.
    Outside of my small veggie patch / herb garden I do not have much experience with farming/gardening, but I am very interested in farming and permaculture.
    I believe that learning on the job is the best way to learn; so tell me what to do and how to do it, and I will do my best!
    I have some limited experience with horses, and have grown up with dogs.
    I’m an animal lover, and not overly phased by muck, so as with all other farmwork- show me how to do something, and I I’ll get it done.

    LANGUAGE SKILLS
    Fluent English (Australian / Standard UK)
    German (Hochdeutsch - Level C1)
    French (basic)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    I have completed Workaways for the following hosts:
    * Hitton Farm {Cecile & Manu} [France] (967468618845) : June 2017, 1 month stay - mainly farm labour including weeding, planting, veggie patch maintenance, also helping in cosmetics lab, and milking the donkeys.
    * Manzano Commune [Spain] (326782412979) : August 2017, 3 week stay - veggie patch maintenance, help constructing fences, and other general tasks.
    * Harim's English Academy [Morocco] (744895223359) : September 2017, 3 week stay - Conversational English help, teaching support, painting banners for advertising.
    * The Intersection Creative Space [Malaysia] (774787849723) : March 2018, 1 month stay - help with social media management, and content creation across their 3 main platforms of Instagram, Facebook and YouTube. General help around hostel (mostly cleaning), and also creating some artworks (murals).
    * Botaga Suma {Barbara & Peter} [Croatia] (125849582927): August 2018, 1 month stay - mainly farm labour including weeding, planting, veggie patch maintenance, harvesting, preserving foods (jams, learning about fermentation), basic construction (creating fence sections).
    * Erika's Horse Farm [Greece] (342848232358): October 2018, 1 month stay - preparing horses for rides twice a day (brushing, tacking up), assisting with rides, helping with tourists (mainly German speakers), leading children's' rides.
    * Sleepy Dragon Hostel [Taiwan] (681874291645): August>September 2019, 1 month stay- daily cleaning of hostel (stripping and cleaning bunk beds, bathrooms, and kitchen area. Vacuuming and mopping), daily food preparation and service (breakfast made to order), helping guests.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback