Sara & Pablo

From: Belgium & Chile

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, Morocco

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/06/2013 - 01/05/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    570

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi!

    I'm Sara. I'm from Belgium (that tiny country with excellent food and drinks that people tend to drive through on their way to more important places like Paris or London). My parents weren't happy with the weather there so I partially grew up in Australia and New Zealand. During college I decided to visit Finland, mostly out of curiously because I didn't know anything about the place (something about lakes and sauna?). It turned out to be an interesting place and I stuck around for a few years. Now I'm setting out to travel for a while. My mission on this trip is to connect with people in a meaningful way, to take a break from my much too digital life and to learn and do things I would normally never consider if I were to continue in my own bubble-to try new things and learn as much as I can. I don't have a destination, I'm going to go wherever feels right or seems interesting.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I'm assertive, good at improvising, have a can-do attitude and learn fast: if something needs to get done I will find a way to do it :)
    I'm a designer (I have a degree in industrial design, finished college about a year ago). I'm good at drawing, understanding people and the problems they're having and coming up with solutions. My job is basically problem solving.
    I get along with pretty much anyone, and can work well in teams as well as independently
    I know CPR and first aid (used to be in the red cross as a volunteer and a beach lifeguard in Belgium)
    I've got a sense of humor :)
    I'm pretty good at building things and would like to get better at it
    I'm very patient
    I'm good at working with computers since that was part of my job as a designer, but I'd prefer to stay away from technology as much as possible during my travels

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Dutch: Intermediate

  • Age

    32 & 27

  • Nationality

    Belgium

  • What else ...

    I'm relentlessly curious. If you have something interesting to tell me I'll want to know all about it :)
    My passions include stories, science, music (especially lyrics driven music or classic rock), being outside, guitars, cashews, and the color yellow. I think I'm quite open minded and I'm really easygoing.

    I've got experience working as a designer (in Helsinki), teacher (Aalto university in Finland), ticket salesperson for Belgian trams, Red Cross volunteer, coastal lifeguard, facepainter for kids at a theme park, babysitter, caretaker for animals at a shelter in Belgium, baker in a small bakery in Peru, Alaskan oyster farmer, Canadian cattle rancher and goat milker, garderner, heavily improvised furniture builder, coffee roaster in Mexico, cob house builder in southern Oregon, and all sorts of other random jobs.

    Any questions? Don't hesitate to ask :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nope: Will eat pretty much anything.

Photos

Planting strawberries in Mexico
My bedroom, while working at an ecovillage in the Yucatan.

Feedback