Sara & Décio

From: Portugal

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy, Portugal, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/09/2018 - 31/05/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    326

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

Watch my profile video


  • Description

    We are a couple from Lisbon, Portugal. Décio is Portuguese and Sara Italian.

    Sara has a Bachelor degree in Sculpture and Décio a Bachelor degree in Anthropology. Our big interest now lies in permaculture, vegetable gardens, compost and compost toilet, natural building techniques and construction in general.

    We both enjoy meeting and talking to people, whether from our own town or from the other side of the world. Our previous jobs as waiters allowed us to do just that. Last year we spent 5 months in the UK where we started by working on an apple farm and then in a pub and in a hotel restaurant. We started to volunteer through WorkAway in March 2017 and we are still traveling around Europe learning more about natural building.
    We would love to continue to expand our experience and learn new skills while traveling and meeting new places and new people!
    We are passionate, dedicated and creative and always like a new challenge.

    Sara: She loves to take care of her baby avocado trees and a small compost bin, organize picnic, watch the clothes going around in the washing machine, read tongue-twister, collect Little Prince books in different languages, travel, soap bubbles, dance, watch documentaries and QUIZ! Also because it was during a QUIZ that Sara and Décio met for the first time!

    Décio: He loves listening to his favorite records, a vestige of a time when he dreamed of being a musician. Also to play the guitar, read books, especially about philosophy, learn new languages. Nowadays he especially enjoys reading about permaculture design and techniques.

    Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need our help!

    Sara & Décio

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • What skills do you have?

    Many different skills developed through our previous jobs and our volunteer experiences. We have good knowledge about food & beverage business, but now we want to expand our skills set about gardening, small-scale food production, and farming. It's not our main aim to live fully off-grid, but we are interested in learning more about that as well.
    At the moment we are reading many books about natural building, especially on strawbale; permaculture design; compost and vermicompost; organic gardening; compost toilet. We took an introductory course in cob building techniques in the UK last year.

    Curious fact: we learned how to use a scythe in the Czech Republic.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Italian, Portuguese

  • Age

    29 & 33

  • Nationality

    Italian and Portuguese

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Sara cannot drink milk, she usually drinks vegetable based "milk"

Photos

Feedback