Saphira

  • Switzerland
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Friends (11)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Portugal - from Jul 2022 until Jul 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello dear hosts:)
    my name is Saphira

    I signed up to workaway last spring and already had the opportunity of doing a Workaway in Costa Rica. It was absolutely amazing, that's why I really want to keep on doing this!

    In the last two years I realized that if I really want to go somewhere or do something, I might as well do it by myself and so far it has been very fulfilling.
    Workaway struck me as the perfect opportunity to be immersed in a foreign culture and learn about it.

    I am the oldest of four kids, so I am used to having people around me, having to act responsible and take care of myself and my siblings. I like to get to know new people. In my opinion, meeting new people from all over is the best way to widen one's perspective and promote a more differentiated thinking. A sustainable healthy lifestyle is something I try to achive. My motto is " If I know better, and have the means to actually also do so, I'm a hypocrite if I dont't do better", goes perfectly with " Treat others the way you would want to be treated".

    My family and friends would describe me as a very peace loving person and at the same time curious. Unobtrusive but still a talker if opportunity is given :)

    My last language exchange was 3 weeks in a host family in Ireland with my school and one year prior we spent 2 weeks in Spain. I really liked both since you see places differently if you don't have the touristy itinerary planned out to the last minute. One really gets to actually enjoy a foreign place at peace. I was also really able to do this during my workaway in Costa Rica, so much that I fell in love with the place and the friends I've found in the hostel and on the beach.

    I would be delighted to hear from you if you could imagine me helping you out at your place or with a project you will have going on.
    Thank you for considering me as a workawayer at your place!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Music
    Photography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am very interested in learning new things and being able to put hem into practical use right away.

    I really love animals and would like to earn about the special needs of your little or big friend(s) if you have one, to be able to help you take care of them. I rode horses for 5 years, but as I live in the city it wasn't easy and at some point, fitting in the time to get to the stable didn't play well with school. Since I was little we continuously had pets, rabbits, mice and right now two cats.

    Spending as much time as possible outside is very dear to me. Last year I started to embrace my love for plants, so far mostly house plants but I would love to learn more about gardening or nature in general. Physical work does not scare me away.

    Right now I am in the process of obtaining my drivers licence. My plan is to be finished by the beginning of May. I will do so in a car with manual gearshift and then take a few lessons in an automatic car so that I know how to handle it.

    Thanks to my siblings I have experience in child care. Additionally I used to babysit regularly for two families and at my former church
    Also I worked in the local library.
    At the moment I am working in customer service for a big health insurance company in Switzerland, so I am confronted with a lot of very different people every day and experienced in finding solutions in the customers best interest.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I would be happy to help anybody who is trying to practice German conversa-tion, Swiss-German or English. In September I am planning on beginning my English studies as, in my eyes, it’s a door opener in today's world. I wouldn't refer to myself as an English speaker who’s on proficiency level yet though.. During my 3 monthsbin Costa Rica I could really improve my classroom spanish, still wouldn't describe myself as 100% fluent tho... French as well, it’s obligatory in Switzerland, but I am grow-ing fond of it only now. Just like everybody else, understanding is much easier than speaking. But that’s exactly what I want to change and why a language exchange seems perfect for me since I will be forced to perfect my skills.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    20

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback