Sarah & Samantha

  • France
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi,
    We are Samantha and Sarah, two french students ( at least for a few more weeks) who have a deep whish to discover the world, meet new people and experiment.
    Let's introduce ourselves :

    ***

    Hi !
    My name is Sarah, I am a 23 years old French student and a soon to be graduated urban planner after a master degree in sustainable development and territory management.
    As a travel and culture fan, I would like have an opportunity to see the world, meet new people and live differently before starting my professional life.

    Overall I’m the type interested in everything, I love discovering and learning, no matter what. My big passions are travel (of course) and also music. I have been playing the violin since I was 5, I have started guitar and trumpet last year and I love to sing. I love taking time to have endless discussions about music and our favorite bands… especially over a tea and a small fire.
    In life I am more of a reflective and observant type. I like to take the time to reflect on the world around me, to write and to meditate. I am quite close to nature and love to go hiking in the mountains to recharge my batteries. Nonetheless I am always ready for an unexpected adventure and i believe that unpredected moments are those which make the greatest memories !
    Two years ago I've hitchhicked alltheway from Lyon to Amsterdam with a friend of mine just because it happened that we both had four free days before us. Those four days ended up beeing unforgetable.

    At work I am strong-willed and a perfectionist, I have a taste for a job well done, especially when it comes to projects that interest me and are close to my heart. I already have several volunteering experiences which I have all very much enjoyed. I worked several years for a country music festival where I helped organize backstage and mentor artists. I also spent a month and a half in Togo with a humanitarian association to help reforest the country. These experiences have had me believe that volunteering is a great place to meet amazing people and get to really know the others.
    Through this workaway experience, I want to get out of my comfort zone by practicing an activity that is outside my areas of expertise and especially to live differently.


    I hope this presentation inspires you with great opportunities together!

    ***

    Hello ! My name is Sam(antha), I’m 24 and I’m from the south of France. I’m currently in my last year of studying in urban planning and sustainable development. Before taking my first job I want to discover new horizons et meet new people (especially after the last years and all of the covid’s problems). I’m both an energic and calm kind of person, I like sharing some adventure with my friends as much as having some chill times. I’m passionate about organizing events, last year I was in the organization team of a musical, a TEDx event and a small theater and music festival in my school. Now I have the project to organize a big music festival next year in my hometown! I love to take photos and sometimes I also like to draw or play the piano.

    I have been riding for more than ten years, it’s something I really enjoy, but unfortunately since I started higher studies I didn’t find the time to continue. I’m used to living with animals and especially dogs since my mother is a dog trainer. I had also practice gliding for few years when I was younger with my father (he is an aviation enthusiast).

    I didn’t travel a lot in my young years, but I trying to fix it! In the last 3 years I had some great experiences starting with one week of woofing in the Netherlands with a friend of mine. Last year I have done some volunteering with a humanitarian organization in Togo (we helped to build dry toilets). Last but not least was a week of road trip in Italy with two friends where we have met some wonderful people through the Couchsurfing application.

    I’m not very tall, but I can help with a large number of tasks. I like doing manual tasks like gardening, building work, maintenance or helping with the animals. I also really like cooking and I can teach French if someone is interested.


    I’m looking forward meeting you!

    ***

    We are looking for a place to stay on month and a half or more, starting in early or mid-May. During this time, we will be working on our final research essay for our graduation. It is an important amount of work so we will need some calm time working on it. Considering this we are looking for some place where we can alternate helping task, working on our essays and sharing good times with our host. We are very free on our way to organize our days so we will be able to adapt to your needs.

    Hoping that these descriptions could match with your expectations.

    We can't wait to meet you and take part in a new project !
    See you soon

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Sarah & Sam : We have worked twice on organic permaculture farms so we can help with the crops and the garden. We are also used to taking care of animals (Dogs, cats, horses).

    We know how to take care of children and manage a house.
    We are also both good cooks and love to prepare the meal for a group of people.

    Finally we can teach in certain areas:
    Up to high school level Sarah can teach math, physics and chemistry.
    We can also give beginner level music lessons (Violon, Singing and Piano) and French lessons.

    Sarah : In general, I'm pretty good with my hands and I'm used to doing odd jobs around the house:
    - DIY
    - painting / sanding
    - I'm good at sewing
    - I also have bases in arc and tin welding for example

    Sam : I'm tiny but I like helping for manual work or caring stuffs. I can also help with :
    - Photo
    - Video editing
    - Drawing
    - Dog education & Horse riding

    Finally, since we both attempted a sustainable development school we can help setting up new projects by taking part in the design and reflexion parts.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    Swedish: Beginner

  • Age

    23 & 24

  • What else ...

    One of our passions is the organization of cultural events. As we said before Sarah has already volunteered in the organization of a music festival and Sam has organized Ted-like conferences for our school.
    Sam and I also put together a musical from A to Z with 150 people involved. We are also in the process of setting up a brand new music festival in the south of France.
    We are not professional but we already have knowledge, experience and motivation for this kind of project.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Feedback