Emma & Sam

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/05/2020 - 06/06/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Myself and Sam have decided it's time to pack up and set off to explore Australia, Sam's home country and the place I've called home for the past 4 years! I moved over to Australia back in December 2015, and traveled around a little of the country for the first year, before settling in Adelaide with Sam in 2017. Sam was born here in Adelaide, (where we both currently reside), and has lived here his whole life (apart from a 3 year jaunt over to the UK where he lived and worked). Between us we've barely scratched the surface of what Australia has to offer, and we're both super excited to get stuck into some new projects and meet new people.

    I wrote the above paragraph before we wet off on our adventures back in May, and it still stands, although we've been on the road for nearly 7 months we've (still) barely scratched the surface. So far we've travelled through South Australia, Northern Territory, Queensland, New South Wales, and we're about to head through the ACT and spend Christmas back in South Australia with Sam's family. The plan is to head to Tasmania in January and stay for a few months, then head to Western Australia in April/May 2021. We do know that we'll be driving to our various destinations, as Sam has a license and we have our own vehicle, so there's no need to worry about providing us with any kind of transport. We're happy to stay for as little time or as long as fits for both us and our hosts.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Self development
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Our previous Workaways have taught us a lot of skills which we think will be transferable and useful at our future Workaways! We’ve been lucky enough to stay with a whole range of hosts and been given the chance to get stuck into a lot of different projects. Some skills we’ve learned so far include:
    - Pruning (specifically rose bushes, we’ve pruned hundreds!)
    - Weeding
    - Mulching
    - Irrigation
    - Painting
    - Working alongside large cattle
    - Concreting
    - Animal care (wallabies, chickens, sheep, cows, goats, alpacas)
    - Dog sitting
    - Hand excavating
    - Building animal shelters
    - Bulk food production

    Myself and Sam have both been blessed with the skill of being able to work well with others and individually if necessary. Being quick thinking, we could both quite comfortably use our initiative to find things to do if not directed.
    We are both huge animal lovers, and will revel at any opportunity to care for animals, or be able to see them in their natural habitats.

    I absolutely adore cooking. It doesn't matter what it is, I enjoy making it. Especially baking. I love coming up with my own recipes. I'm also a keen writer (I‘m in the middle of writing a couple of books), and recently I've discovered a knack and a love for embroidery. I have a fascination with languages, and absolutely love helping others improve their English, whether that be any hosts that we stay with or other Workawayers staying in the same place as us, I will always be more than happy to assist anyone in improving their English speaking and writing. I have recently taken a TEFL course to aid me with this too.

    We both try and stay active, and we’re both physically fit; neither of us would complain doing any kind of labor (I'm certainly used to it in my line of work, lugging 20kg banana boxes is part of my daily routine!!). Sam is extremely creative, both musically and with other art forms like drawing and painting. He's definitely a problem solver, and loves getting stuck into anything to do with the garden.

    Sam plays the guitar and would be happy to teach and chat about this with anyone whose interested. Although not qualified in any particular trade, he's an all rounder and will give anything a go (takes after his Grandpa in the field of carpentry, that being he's a bit of a natural). He's also a great painter, so any projects involving painting; fences, walls, whatever it might be, would be right up his alley. Having a good sense of humor is something I think will take both of us far.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    26 & 34

  • What else ...

    We both appreciate what it must mean for hosts to allow people like ourselves into their homes. Allowing strangers to come and stay with you is a huge ask, and we will be forever grateful to those who allow us to come and stay with them and welcome us into their own personal space.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope. we're both lucky enough to not suffer with any allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nope. We both eat anything and love trying new food!

Photos

Feedback