Sarah

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/06/2016 - 23/12/2019

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    I started traveling in summer 2016, after finishing my study as a vet. I grew up in Berlin and spending most of my life in a big city I realised pretty soon, that that's not the way of life I want to have. I am a nature person and I would always choose the remote countryside over a city. The first time I travelled for more than a few weeks was after graduating from school. I went to South Africa and Mozambique for 8 months and volunteered in a monkey rescue centre and an animal shelter. During the Worldcup I worked in a hostel as a cook for one month and the rest of the time I travelled around with people I met on my way.
    I am a very active person. I love to go running and swimming and I am playing Capoeira. I enjoy to make and listen to music, read and be outside as much as possible. I am curious to learn new things and eager to step out of my comfort zone to get to know different ways of living, meet new people and make a lot of new experiences.

    Be the change you want to see in the world!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I graduated in veterinary medicine, but I never worked as a vet, so I don't have much practical experience (except from a few internships mainly with dogs, cats and birds).
    I love to cook and bake healthy vegan food and during the last years I worked in many places as a chef and learned a lot about nutrition and different diets. I am not a qualified dietitian, but I do have a lot of knowledge in that field and I am studying about it whenever possible.
    I have been working for an event caterer for almost 6 years during my study in Berlin and I worked in several cafes. In 2017 I also had a paid job for two months as a waitress and kitchen help in a hotel in Austria. So I have many experiences in gastronomy.
    But what I enjoy to do the most is working in the garden - with plants, building something from wood and stones and working with animals. I am not afraid to get dirty hands and I don't mind doing hard work, especially when it is outside.
    Experiences I made so far doing Workaway/Helpx:
    Building steps, differents styles of plant-cultivating beds, chicken tractors, an oustide shower, a Jean Pain, a rocket stove..., planting crops and trees, grafting, lots of weeding, olive-picking, working with cement and natural material, repointing walls, preserving vegetables and fruits in different ways, painting walls (also artistic paintings), running a hostel, cooking for up to 50 guests, baking fresh breads and cakes to sell, cleaning guest rooms,.... I learned the basic principles of permaculture and synergistic gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    german, english, basic italian

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    german

  • What else ...

    I am a vegan for a few years now and a vegetarian since I was 14. One of the reasons I am travelling is that I am trying to find a place to live and start my own self-sufficient and sustainable project. I believe we have to change our way of acting and living in this world and overthink the status we gave ourselves and we have to do it now!
    In my opinion animals have the same right to live happily as we do and so I don't want to work on a farm where people see their animals as a product.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegan

Profile is connected to:

marcovidali


Photos

Feedback