Simon & Kathy

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/08/2019 - 11/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We’re a retired couple living on 39 acres of predominantly rainforest two hours south of Sydney Australia. Kathy is a keen cheese maker and with two partners runs cheesemaking workshops ( ). Simon still consults a bit, but when at home works on restoring the rain forest to its natural state, getting rid of the invasive weeds, and tending his bee hives. We love having new experiences and in the last few years have been to places such as Turkey, Georgia, Norway, South Africa, and Borneo. Kathy is keen to learn as much as possible about cheese making techniques from other parts of the world. She has enrolled in a cheese making course in Italy in early September and hopes to learn even more through Workaway (as well as helping in other aspects of farm life). While she does that, Simon is happy to help out with general cleaning, painting and doing minor repair work and maintenance. He’s a keen gardener and happy to wield basic gardening tools. We enjoy good health and have more energy than most people at our stage of life.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Teacher (English as a second language), general gardening and household cleaning and light maintenance jobs

  • Languages spoken


  • Age

    71 & 67

  • What else ...

    Kathy is a keen cheese maker and would like to see how others do it. I am happy to help out with any odd jobs as necessary

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No dietary requirements