Roelie

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/09/2014 - 01/08/2015

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi, I am a friendly, hard working, physically fit, thoughtful woman, adventurous, curious and interested in a lot of things on the earth.
    I am a nature and animal loving person, with a special preference for rough, inhospitable, (mountainous) areas. Some hikes in different regions of Nepal and Patagonia affected me deeply. But in general I like to be surrounded by nature and its creatures.
    I have sense of responsibility and an unprejudiced interest in people.

    After a study Educational Sciences I worked as a scientific research assistant. Gathering a lot of different data by interviewing, testing, measuring children and adolescents. A couple of thousand children were extensively followed for about 10 years in their development in this study about mental health and welfare.
    The last years I worked as an intake officer in a school for special education for children with severe behavioral problems. Although my career brought me life experience and valuable knowledge, the possibilies are limited and I have come to a point that I have to consider things.

    I want to see more of the world and I am inquisitive, I feel good when physically active or making concrete things.
    The reason why I signed up as a 'workawayer' is that I want to practise different skills, broaden my perspective, probably learn about things and activities I never thought of before, creating a period in which I have time to consider what my next step will be because I don’t believe the way my life seems to be ‘forced in’ is the only way and I am very curious about other paths. In addition there is a challenge in practising communication in other languages and learning about other cultures.

    During the last 3 years good friends are rebuilding an old farmhouse. And though I don't know anything about building, I did a lot of things after being instructed how to do them. From drilling out a concrete floor to painting, drawing cables or nailing laths on a roof construction. I am not afraid for heights. I have (a light shade of) green fingers due to my own little garden and some herb and vegetable growing in windowsill and backyard. I am said to be creative.
    One of the families I was a homehelp in, had a dairy farm and on occasion I was asked to be of help with different kind of things (for example assisting when a calf had to be born).

    I grew up as the oldest and besides a younger brother and sister I have a lot of younger cousins and nephews. I used to practise gymnastics and in the past I trained young children in gymnastics and acrobatics. I have experience with babysitting and family home help.
    On a relatively young age I got interested in biology, protection, preservation, awareness and sustainability, besides people name creativity as one of my strengths, but curiously chose a social study.

    In my spare time I used to be a climber, I practise yoga, I like to photograph, travel, ice skate, read...

    I am a quick learner, daring, not deterred by physical demanding work. I very much welcome new skills to develop! I am looking for hosts who are passionate about what they do, and who don't mind teaching me a bit about it. Please get in touch if you feel I would be suited to your project.


  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    Handy and quick learner
    Driving Licence
    Worked in a seal recovery centre, preparing food and medicine
    Wood chopping
    Painting
    Sawing
    Nailing, screwing
    Gardening
    Fruit picking
    Cooking
    Photography
    Knowledge of childpsychology, special educational needs
    Baby-sit
    Trained children in gymnastics and acrobatics
    Serving

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, english, a little french, german and spanish

  • Age

    42

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    I am pleased to hear from you!
    Looking forward to a period in which I can use my strengths and will be challenged to get the most of myself!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback