Ruth & Stephen

From: Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/12/2020 - 01/04/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Our status


  • Description

    Hi there, we are a family of three, Steve (54), Ruth (47) and Charlie (10). Although originally from the UK - where Ruth lectured Economics at the university and Steve trained as a sculptor and potter, and teaches pottery making on the wheel. we have been living in the Italian countryside for the last 12 years. Having renovated an old farmhouse - which hadn't been lived in for 40 years - we are now in the process of rebuilding a medieval stone ruin, which will become our new home. In the meantime, we are living in a small wooden off grid house which we have also built. We grow nearly all of our own food - veggies, fruit, cereals, olive oil and wine - using permaculture, biodynamic and organic methods. We have dogs, cats, sheep and chickens (and of course goldfish) and would like to expand our menagerie to include a cow or two, some bees, and maybe even a donkey. As Ruth doesn't eat meat, the animals are kept as pets although we intend to milk the sheep and use their wool, and are keen to learn more about this. Winter here is quiet, and Charlie will start secondary school next year, so we have seized the opportunity for an adventure. We have booked tickets to Melbourne early December, returning in March, and plan to visit New Zealand too. We have been workaway hosts for years now. We always (well nearly always!) enjoy the exchange, and are keen to meet like minded people on our journey. We have a wide range of practical skills, but are hoping to learn new things on our travels!!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Helping around the house

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    We have masonry, carpentry, plumbing, plastering, roofing and electrical work experience including solar installation. Apart from houses, we have built pizza ovens, rocket stoves, barns, chicken coops, dry stone walls, raised beds, and a composting toilet. We fell trees for firewood. We are comfortable using most tools and machinery. Steve can fix most anything - he has also been known to do his own dentistry! We have lots of gardening experience, including fencing. To be honest we are up for anything. We are very much 'can do' people.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    49 & 55

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Ruth doesn't eat meat but doesn't require special meals in that she is happy to just eat the veggies, or pick the bits out! Steve and Charlie will eat ANYTHING,