Michael

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    I like to do research in my field--economics of religious philosophy. I also like to be in nature to go hiking, swimming (sometimes), I like to garden, I love learning and problem solving.

    My next destination:

    Germany - from Jun 2022 until Dec 2025
    View all
  • Description

    I like to be outside in fresh air, clean water, and around warm fires. I like simple living and high thinking. I like to travel, but am looking for a place to settle down.
    I study economics and am an aspiring PhD student. My research is at the combination of religious philosophy and economics. There is actually a lot of economics in religious philosophy that is relevant independent of faith.
    I am single; I arrived in Germany in 2013 to study in Marburg. There I earned my M.Sc. in economics and started my Ph.D. It has been quite an Odyssey since then.

    At the moment I am waiting on a judgement from a legal proceeding that took place at a university in the Ruhr gebiet. After I receive the judgement I will be applying for Ph.D. positions here in Germany. I am looking for a (WorkAway) situation that will allow me to continue seeking out a Ph.D. position while I contribute to a community or individual(s) what I am able with my skill set. The process of finding placement could take anywhere from 2-6 months. I prefer to find a situation that can facilitate my personal agenda while benefiting from my skill-set.

    Before studying economics I spent about 10 years living in Hare Krishna monasteries in the US, Germany, India, and Bangladesh. The experience shaped my character and I identity. I continue to study religious philosophy and discover ways of communicating the benefits of religious philosophy to the academic body that is primarily consisting of non-theistic and agnostic persons.
    I enjoy to speak about my research and religious philosophy in general but am not liking to share with persons that are uninterested.

    My research and related information can be found here:
    researching-religion.de
    https://sites.google.com/view/michael-perdue/home
    https://www.researchgate.net/profile/John_Perdue2/research
    https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/michael.perdue

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Team sports
    Dancing
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Writing
    Books
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
    History
    Events & social
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Helping around the house
    General Maintenance
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have some light construction skills and related skills developed while managing rental units. I prefer to garden! I have cloning skills and indoor gardening skills. i can do hard so-called grunt work in a garden, no problems. I can also edit English, teach English, Math, Economics, Philosophy, etc. I can wash dishes and have some practice with this task as well as mopping floors and cleaning toilets.

    I can also cook, but am not so expert at this.

    I am also good at listening.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I can teach English for conversation.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    48

  • What else ...

    I spoke about "other interesting" things in the previous description. Additionally, I practice mindfulness, meditation, I like to read and talk about philosophy and economics. I am low maintenance and also like to spend time just listening and being quiet.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      VEGAN/ VEGETARIAN

Feedback

Friends

Feedback