Roxanna & Danny

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to


  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/09/2018 - 28/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there! We are Roxanna and Danny; a married couple on an adventure. We left London in September 2018 and have spent 3 months in China, travelling a country we both interested in and have enjoyed immensely. It's allowed Roxanna to practice her Mandarin daily! On this trip we want to get to know our beautiful planet a bit more and each location a little deeper.

    We try to consume less, waste less, judge less; appreciate more, empathise more, feel more wonder. People are important, justice is important. Animals are import and and our planet needs us to love it; like it has loved us. And this is partly why we are interested in Workaway.

    We're also on Workaway because we realised Hostels and Air BnB's and Couchsurfing are not the only way to see the world through a local lens - which is what we like to do! We would love to meet some people who not only share some of our interests but also be useful to the places that are hosting us. Having friends and acquaintances around the works is such an exciting and beautiful thing; which allows cultural exchange and new possibilities you didn't even know were possible!

    Mostly, we are both interested in learning about the world and the people we share it with!

    Outside of travel we both have interest within the arts; Danny has an interest in film especially independent and short films. Roxanna has a love for theatre; finding experimental and fringe theatre, theatre for change, community arts and so on. We love going to museums and art galleries,and going on long city walks.

    Danny loves football and supports Chelsea, but will watch anyone no matter who or where. He's also into cricket and enjoys seeing it played in the most obscure, far reaching places on the globe. For example he's recently been learning about Icelandic cricket.

    Roxanna is vegan and loves to cook and bake and find surprising local foods, wherever she goes. She's also passionate about tea! Over the past couple of years her collection and interest has grown and hopes on the enjoyed trips to visit famous tea locations drinking lots of local teas! Singing is release. She always hopes the jobs she chooses make a difference in someones life - as they have all impacted and taught her.

    We're both passionate about social justice & responsibility, environmental protection, love and respect for animals and would love to volunteer with project involved in these movements and more.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Both our careers are arts based and we both creative, compassionate people.

    Roxanna's strengths are in;
    - working face to face with people; she has worked mostly with children, teens and the elderly in applied arts, theatre, drama, crafts etc both facilitating and assisting on projects,
    - cooking, but is only comfortable preparing vegan food,
    - caring for animals (there has never been a time in her life when there hasn't been a pet at home)
    - Just started to learn about gardening and would love to learn more!
    -Busy bar work experience

    Danny's strengths are in;
    -Previous experience in teaching English to children.
    - Creative curating work in the arts, specifically film.
    -Plenty of experience in working in busy bars and environments.
    - Playing and training sporting activities.
    - Juggling!

  • Languages spoken

    English, Polish, (beginners) Mandarin

  • Age

    29 & 29

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Insect bites

    • Special dietary requirements