Rowena

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cape Verde, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Reunion, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, South Africa

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    768

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Having grown up on family-run sheep farm on the coast of rural Australia, connecting and working with the land and ocean is a big part of who I am. We ran sheep and grew a lot of the food we ate. This has given me a lot of respect for Mother Nature, and I enjoy working and connecting with it. It’s also a background that means I’m not afraid of hard work and get a lot of satisfaction out of pitching in where needs be - all the better if it’s working and sharing with other people!
    For the past 15 years I’ve worked in media and in the humanitarian industry living mainly in Southern Africa, South East Asia and the Middle East. I have a lot of respect for the diverse ways we all live and love learning new stories and meeting people.
    Am eager to spend time learning and working in communities, rather than traveling through. I enjoy working with my hands and have experience and enjoy any sort of admin, hospitality or animal husbandary work. Basically I will try anything that needs to be done!
    I enjoy learning new things and from growing up on a farm I know how to just jump in and get stuff done.
    Am someone who is never bored - like being active and if it’s in nature all the better. Hope to meet you soon!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening, writing, working with animals, communication, media work, farm labor, child minding, cleaning
    Formal qualifications: BA business/marketing, diploma journalism BA Arts Psychology. Currently completing Masters in Psychology

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    39

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    Am easy going, very independent and not afraid of hard work. Nature is in my blood, and looking to connect with a community, and experience a different way of life while putting in a hard days work and helping my host.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (but not super fussy)

Photos

Feedback