Ron

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/11/2017 - 17/08/2021


  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Living in the Canadian Rockies since 2005 has kept me young but i am eager to branch away from the service industry and into something that will allow me to uncover my greater purpose in life. I have been a college professor of hospitality, a conference service manager, a front desk manager, and more recently, a cook. While these roles have been varied and interesting, i am at a point in my life where i need to fulfill some higher needs such as connection and having an impact.

    My greatest source of meaning and joy to date has been related to interacting with animals of all kinds. Back in 2014, i took a sabbatical from Banff and volunteered at Richmond Animal Protection Society in British Columbia and this experience ranks as one of the best thus far! I am looking to recreate that but in a live-in setting. I was delighted to discover that Workaway connects farmers and ranchers with volunteer animal-lovers!

    I suspect that i am not the typical volunteer in that i am 52 and that i already know my country quite well but still, i bring passion to the table alongside of a need to learn, a need to give, a big heart, an even bigger belly.

    My favourite pastimes include hanging out with animals, hiking, cycling, skiing, hiking, reading, and watching movies. I look forward to exploring volunteering opportunities with you!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Teaching, cooking, cleaning, team-building, putting myself in other people's shoes, leadership, communication, guest-service, marketing, a positive attitude, an ability to be a team-player.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    53

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback