• United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Top Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently


    My next destination:

    France - from Jul 2019 until Jul 2029
    View all
  • Description

    My name is Rob, and I was for 20 years, a teacher and practitioner of massage, specializing in Shiatsu and Tuina (Japanese and Chinese Massage), and held 2 state licenses. I have also been a finish / trim carpenter (10 years),a professional gardener (Organic), I built my own house in Arkansas USA, and lived on 40 acres. In my youth I worked my way around the world in mineral exploration, and lived and worked in the bush. I have also been a hotelier (3 star international), and worked as a hotel manager, maitre'd , bartender, pub manager, and owned a Bed and Breakfast. I have also been a student of yoga and Pilates, and am into self-improvement.
    I work well without supervision: I am efficient, strong,adaptable, and take pride in a job well done. I am a good problem solver, affable, with a good sense of humour, and a good communicator.
    Still capable of working an 8 hour day , and helped re-roof a tiled barn in SW France. ( a 3 month stay in the Haute-Garonne).I have been doing Workaway and Wwoofing for about 6 years, in England , France and New Zealand.
    I have drivers licenses for both sides of the road ! I have my own car ,and a bicycle.
    I can cook, and keep a clean kitchen.
    Looking for France and Ireland.
    I moved to France in July 2019 , and want to improve my French , and do some workaways in a French speaking environment. I prefer warmer climates , but am willing to adapt. Improving my French , and learning about French culture are my priorities.
    I am just about to finish up a 5 week workaway in the Rhone region west of Lyon. This has involved sandblasting a 200 year old dead olive tree , sanding and oiling it , for a salon centrepiece. I also made 15 signs that were put on a post , with the names of the countries that the workaways have come from , and last week I made 3 gates for this farm. I like to be challenged, and these were interesting , and unsupervised projects. I have since then done workaways in Brittany , the Garonne area , and returned for 6 weeks to a previous host in the Rhone area . Here I built a Torii , a Shinto gateway , cabinets , and several other woodworking projects
    My motto is " Proper preparation prevents pretty poor performance ." Also known as the 6 Ps!!

    I am staying near Montreal Aude till June 2021 , and would be available for workaways in the local area , not more than 45 minutes drive from Montreal 11290

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Gardening (good plant knowledge). Building ......have built my own house, lived on and developed 40 acres, and was a finish carpenter for 10 years .Comfortable working with power tools. Tourism.....former hotel manager(3 star international), barman, pub manager(Devon England). I have also worked on farms with sheep and cattle, milked cows by machine and hand, and taken care of friend's dogs, cats and horses. House sat for 3 years in Florida. I am domesticated and love to cook. Especially interested in Biodynamics, anything to do with Rudolf Steiner, and would like to learn Beekeeping, breadmaking, and acquire new skills. Just finished re-roofing a French Barn......required some beam removal, total tile removal , and replacement...about 100 sq. metres of roof. 2017 volunteered @ a white water rafting company in BC Canada, and was the cook for 8-14 people! 2019 just completed 2 workaways in New Zealand , trim carpentry, chainsaw work , and a vegetable garden reclamation. 2019 , I have completed 6 workaways in France , Lyon area , Aude , Brittany and Lot-Garonne and Nimes. 2020 just completed a 6 week workaway back in the Rhone area.

  • Age


  • What else ...

    I am a omnivore, and have been a vegetarian in the past. I am used to hard work, and have spent the past few years working outdoors in the Florida summer. 20 years of my working life were spent practicing and teaching Chinese Medicine. I am very interested in Natural Health. Early riser, used to starting work @ 7.00 am. I am precise when working, as well as tidy and organized. I am good with tools and machinery, and I put things back where I find them, and tidy up after a day's work. Energetic, intelligent, kind, good sense of humour, and adaptable.
    I am in excellent health and take no medications. Due to age, generally would prefer own room.
    Good with cats, dogs, and children.

    Have own car , bicycle .

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements