River

  • Australia
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there, I have been travelling around Australia and a little overseas during the last 12 years living and working in various maintenance roles in remote resorts. I have also had the privilege of travelling and volunteering in several countries. Most recently my employment was as Maintenance Manager at a resort with 150 rooms, a campground, bar/restaurant and petrol station in Central Australia. Would love to get involved in growing food and general property improvements. My partner is Brazilian (Her account is linked, have a look) and we are in Brazil enjoying the farm life for now. We have future goals to create our own sitio/retreat centre, so are motivated to exchange knowledge and help people and communities already building their paradises. Interests include hiking, photography, nature, eating healthy food, woodworking - I like to make things out of recycled pallet wood, plants, nature.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Art Projects
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
    DIY and building projects
  • More details about your skills

    I am a trade qualified Fitter and Turner (Australian “Cert 3” in Mechanical Engineering: Mechanical Fitting), however I have been on the road for 12 years now travelling and working on maintenance, utilities and gardening teams at various remote location resorts and properties around Australia, as well as volunteering on a variety of projects in Australia and overseas. Currently in Brazil, previous jobs have been Hydraulic Technician in the largest chroming facility in the Southern Hemisphere; Maintenance Hand, Water Treatment Operator and Utilities Assistant at a 5 star island resort in The Great Barrier Reef; Station (Ranch) Hand and Gardener at 1000000 acre tourist destination location property in the beautiful East Kimberley region of Australia; Most Recently for the last 3.5 years at a medium sized remote area resort in Central Australia, Starting as Essential Services Officer promoted to Maintenance Supervisor then up to Maintenance Manager overseeing a team of up to 10. I have experience volunteering at a number of locations including a large Buddhist centre on the east coast of Australia, a dog breeding farm in Florida who kept all dogs not sold (had over 100 pet dogs), Eco Community project in Arizona and health retreats in Peru to name a few. Plenty of things I am willing to try, and am not afraid to get my hands dirty, but particularly interested in working with the earth and growing food, as well as property improvement works.

    Living remote and having limited access to supplies has forced me to learn how to come up with creative solutions to unexpected problems.

    I am experienced in the use of a wide range of hand tools, power tools and motor driven equipment including a certification in Chainsaw use and maintenance.

    High level of experience operating a variety of forklifts, driving small trucks, operating chainsaws, brushcutters, ride on mowers and more....

    Moderate level of experience operating Metal lathes and workshop manufacturing equipment, Front End Loader/Backhoe, Mini Excavator and Skid Steer.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I am enjoying gradually learning some Portugués and have some small previous experience in Spanish while travelling in Peru.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    35

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      healthy, mostly plants and grains, but I do eat meat, more occasionally, you might call me an opportunistic omnivore

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback